Endorsed by

2011 National Architecture Awards – the winners

The 2011 National Architecture Awards were held at a dinner at MONA, Hobart, on Thursday 3 November.

The winners were as follows.

Public Architecture

Sir Zelman Cowen Award
Australian War Memorial, Eastern PrecinctJohnson Pilton Walker

National Award
AAMI ParkCox Architecture

National Commendations
Brain and Mind Research Institute (BMRI) – Youth Mental Health BuildingBVN Architecture
Victoria University Learning Commons and Exercise Sports Science ProjectJohn Wardle Architects
St Mary’s Catholic Primary School New Hall and Library, Reggio Emelia Early Learning Centre and CourtyardTroppo Architects NT

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Frederick Romberg Award
Waterloo StreetCandalepas Associates

National Award
John Street, Box HillHayball

National Commendation
A’Beckett TowerElenberg Fraser

Residential Architecture – Houses

Robin Boyd Award
Castlecrag HouseNeeson Murcutt Architects

National Awards
SolisRenato D’Ettorre Architects
Zinc HouseDenton Corker Marshall

National Commendations
Marion Bay House1+2 Architecture
Garden HouseDurbach Block Jaggers Architects

Enduring Architecture

National Award
Magney House, Bingie Bingie, Bingie Bingie – Glenn Murcutt


Lachlan Macquarie Award
Cairns Cruise TerminalArkhefield and Total Project Group Architects in association

Commercial Architecture

Harry Seidler Award
Ecosciences PrecinctHassell

National Award
Myer Bourke Street RedevelopmentNH Architecture

National Commendation
AM60Donovan Hill

Interior Architecture

Emil Sodersten Award
State Theatre Centre of Western AustraliaKerry Hill Architects

National Award
Nudgee College Tierney Auditoriumm3architecture

Urban Design

Walter Burley Griffin Award

National Award
Australian War Memorial, Eastern PrecinctJohnson Pilton Walker

National Commendation
National Centre of Indigenous ExcellenceTonkin Zulaikha Greer

International Architecture

Jørn Utzon Award
School of the Arts, SingaporeWOHA

AmankoraKerry Hill Architects

Suzhou Industrial Park Logistics CentreJohnson Pilton Walker

Small Project Architecture

National Award
Small HouseDomenic Alvaro

National Commendations
Law Street HouseMuir Mendes
Little Big HouseRoom11

Sustainable Architecture

National Award
The University of Adelaide Innova21DesignInc

National Commendations
Hill Plains HouseWolveridge Architects
Tarremah HallMorrison & Breytenbach Architects

Steel Architecture

Colorbond Award
The HangarPeter Stutchbury Architecture

National Commendation
Caritas College Junior School External Covered AreaTridente Architects

Related topics

More award

See all
Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Bar Design

Eighteen bars are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

372 by Ctrl Space. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Restaurant Design

Announced on 23 August, the shortlist for the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards includes 35 projects for Best Restaurant Design.

A Cafe Called John by Terroir Architects. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist: Best Cafe Design

Seventeen cafes are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site