2011 NSW State Awards

In the lead-up to the Institute's National Awards, we look at this year's winners in the NSW Chapter Awards.

The total number of entries this year – 197 – was close to the 200 that has now become the standard for the largest state awards program. This was the second year in which judging was split between five juries. The juries short-listed sixty-seven projects to visit and they spent ten full days travelling around the state to assess the merits of these projects.

The well-attended presentation ceremony on 1 July was again hosted by Tone Wheeler. Newly elected NSW President Matthew Pullinger awarded his President’s Prize to respected NSW Government Architect Peter Mould; the recently elected Minister for Planning and Infrastructure, Bradley Hazzard MP, was on hand to present the Premier’s Prize to lahznimmo for the Warragamba Dam Master Plan Works.

The eight named awards were supplemented by ten architecture awards and sixteen commendations. The Blacket Prize for outstanding regional architecture was awarded to Austin McFarland Architects for the hall and library of St Joseph’s Primary School in Wingham (a BER project); the Award for Enduring Architecture went to Pritzker Prize winner Glenn Murcutt for the Magney House at Bingie Bingie; former NSW President Caroline Pidcock was awarded the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize and Matt Chan the Emerging Architect Prize. The Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture went to Peter Stutchbury Architecture for a Hunter Valley airport hangar.

The awards roll call again revealed the depth and diversity of the state’s architecture.
– Murray Brown (Policy & Professional Development Manager, NSW Chapter)


Public Sulman Award—Brain and Mind Research Institute (BMRI) Youth Mental Health Building by BVN Architects [Image 1]. Award—Hillingdon Ascham School by Tzannes Associates [Image 2]. Commendations—Milson Island Sport and Recreation Centre by Allen Jack + Cottier Architects; Lowy Cancer Research Centre by lahznimmo architects and Wilson Architects; National Centre of Indigenous Excellence by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer.

Commercial Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award—420 George Street, Sydney, by Bates Smart [Image 3]. Award—ERA by Stanisic Associates Architects [Image 4]. Commendations—Coca-Cola Place by Rice Daubney; Sydney Harbour YHA on the dig site by Tzannes Associates.

Heritage Greenway Award—St James’s Church, King Street, Sydney, by Design 5 Architects [Image 5]. Commendation—Maitland Regional Art Gallery by Paul Berkemeier Architect.

Residential – Houses Wilkinson Award—DPR House by MCK Architects [Image 6]. Awards—Skylight House by Chenchow Little Architects [Image 7]; Small House by Domenic Alvaro [Image 8]; Castlecrag House by Neeson Murcutt Architects [Image 9]; Garden House by Durbach Block Jaggers Architects [Image 10]. Commendations—House Shmukler by Tribe Studio; Woollahra House by Grove Architects; Parallel House by Jon Jacka Architect; Queen Street Residence by Tzannes Associates.

Residential – Multiple Aaron Bolot Award—Waterloo Street by Candalepas Associates [Image 11]. Awards (2)—Francis Street by Candalepas Associates [Image 12]; Pacific Sixteen by Smart Design Studio [Image 13]. Commendations—The Royal, Newcastle, by Tzannes Associates; St Peter’s Green Seniors Housing by Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects; Sugar Dock, Jacksons Landing, by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT) with Lend Lease.

Small Projects Award—Small House by Domenic Alvaro [Image 14]. Commendations—Port Botany Look Out by Choi Ropiha Fighera; Giant Steps – Markaling House by Mury Architects.

Interior John Verge Award—BVN Sydney Studio by BVN Architecture [Image 15]. Awards—Strelein Warehouse by Ian Moore Architects [Image 16]; Conneq by Bates Smart [Image 17].

Sustainable Milo Dunphy Award—Elamang Avenue by Luigi Rosselli Architects [Image 18]. Commendation—39 Hunter Street by Jackson Teece. Blacket Prize—Hall and Library, St Joseph’s Primary School, Wingham, by Austin McFarland Architects [Image 19].

Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture—The Hangar by Peter Stutchbury Architecture [Image 20]. 25 Year Award for Enduring Architecture—Magney House, Bingie Bingie by Glenn Murcutt [Image 21]. Premier’s Prize—Warragamba Dam Master Plan Works by lahznimmo Architects and Spackman Mossop Michaels Landscape Architects [Image 22]. President’s Prize—Peter Mould, NSW Government Architect. Marion Mahony Griffin Prize—Caroline Pidcock. Emerging Architect Prize—Matthew Chan.


Commercial and interiors – Ray Brown (chair), Nick Tyrrell, Elizabeth Carpenter.
Public architecture and urban design – Ken Maher (chair), Laura Harding, Graeme Dix, David Stevenson.
Multiple housing – John Choi (chair), Hannah Tribe and Andrew Cortese.
Sustainable, heritage and small projects – Howard Tanner (chair), Chris Bosse, Genevieve Lilley.
Single housing – Abbie Galvin (chair), Nikki South, Michael Tawa.


Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site