2011 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

Commercial architecture was under-represented this year, but nevertheless indicated a well-honed understanding of the market and the architect’s role in facilitating exciting and tangible outcomes for clients wishing to deliver “iconic” architecture. Tasmania is rich in heritage, and our architects are exceptionally skilled in utilizing existing buildings and returning new life and activity to them.

Public buildings which engaged with the existing condition or context, while also making an architectural contribution greater than the sum of the individual elements, were awarded. These projects often made sense of complicated and difficult sites and reinvigorated whole precincts.

It should also be noted that this has often been seen as challenging work by architects but the inventiveness evidenced in these projects, the way these interventions reimagine our daily life and patterns of habitation, is commendable and points to a bright future for our profession.

Houses have always been our strong suit. This year is no exception. The intimate understanding of personal ritual and habit has informed a number of houses which exemplify new ways of engagement – between people, between people and nature, and between people and the “new” spaces that are created to facilitate this.

– Peter Poulet (jury chair)


Public Alan C Walker Award—Ogilvie High School Student Learning Centre by Liminal Architecture (formerly Forward Brianese & Partners) [image 1]. Award—Tarremah Hall by Morrison & Breytenbach Architects [image 2]. Commendations—Josephite Learning Centre by K2LD Architects; Goulburn Street Primary School by Stuart Tanner Architects.

Commercial Award—Saffire Resort by Circa Morris-Nunn Walker [image 3].

Urban Design No award.

Interior No award.

Heritage Roy Sharrington Smith Award—Mount Pleasant by Preston Lane Architects [image 4].

Residential – Houses Esmond Dorney Award—Allens Rivulet House 2 by Room 11 [image 5]. Awards—Little Big House by Room 11 [image 6]; Marion Bay House by 1+2 Architecture [image 7]; Rocky Hills Retreat by Rosevear Architects [image 8].

Residential – Alterations and Additions Award—Mount Pleasant by Preston Lane Architects [image 9].

Sustainable Award—Tarremah Hall by Morrison & Breytenbach Architects [image 10].

Small Project Award—Little Big House by Room 11 [image 11]. Commendation—The Brunswick Hotel by Interia Design & Architecture. Award for Enduring Architecture—Christ College, University of Tasmania by Hartley Wilson & Bolt [image 12]. Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture—Saffire Resort by Circa Morris-Nunn Walker [image 13]. Emerging Architect Prize—Poppy Taylor. Henry Hunter Triennial Prize—Port Arthur Separate Prison by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer. Honourable Mention—Strangio House by Maria Gigney Architects. President’s Prize—Jamieson Allom. SWT Blythe Student Prize—Rebekah Verrier for Urban Kampung. Commendations—Gabrielle Phillips for Urban Kampung; Hannah Gora for Urban Kampung.


Main Jury – Peter Poulet (jury chair), Katelin Butler, Adrian FitzGerald, Todd Henderson, Stephen Loo.

Triennial Prize Jury – Elvio Brianese (jury chair), Paul Johnston, Tony Purse.

SWT Blythe Student Prize Jury – Robert Morris-Nunn (jury chair), Alysia Bennett, Shane Cox.

Emerging Architect Prize Jury – Karen Davis RAIA (jury chair), Hugh Maguire RAIA, Damion Perkins.



Architecture Australia, July 2011

Related topics

More award

See all
Phoenix Central Park by Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects. Durbach Block Jaggers, John Wardle Architects win highest honour at 2020 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the NSW awards via a live broadcast on 3 July.

Salisbury Community Hub by Hassell. 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards on 2 July.

Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects with Advanced Timber Concepts Studio. 2020 WA Architecture Awards

A sustainable timber building that draws of regional community spirit and a history of Indigenous AFL players has taken out the top honour at the …

STEAM Building Darwin High School by Hully Liveris Design Company and Jackman Gooden Architects. 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards.

Most read

Latest on site