Endorsed by

2012 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

Robelle Domain by Vee Design

Client: Ipswich City Council

Jury comment

This master-planned residential development embraces natural drainage lines to manage flood events and cleanse stormwater in a way that enhances the development of public open space. Robelle Domain identifies the needs of the greater Ipswich community and delivers a network of linear trails with external and internal connections to passive and active recreational spaces through a variety of landscaped treatments that replicate natural landscape typologies.

Robelle Domain is a sound, working example for the future integration of natural systems with recreational needs for communities.

See our review of this project in Landscape Architecture Australia 132.



Published online: 14 Aug 2012
Images: Christopher Frederick Jones, David Hatherly


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site