Endorsed by

2012 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

Humanities and Science Campus (Parliamentary Triangle, Canberra) by Spackman Mossop Michaels

Client: National Capital Authority

Jury comment

This design demonstrates an exemplary responsiveness to its setting of landmark buildings, including the National Library, National Gallery, and Questacon, and to an urban open space with complex relationships, circulation and viewing needs.

The design planning and then the design implementation have achieved a successful integration of the formal vistas, the structured, tree shaded sculpture rooms and the native planted, organic forms, inspired by the regional bushland, which seamlessly and appropriately links to the Reconciliation Place.

The space has been transformed to a notable addition to Canberra’s civic realm, already with a distinct identity and eminently usable and evocative spaces.



Published online: 14 Aug 2012
Images: Spackman Mossop Michaels, Vikky Wilkes


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site