Endorsed by

2012 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

Clifton Hill Railway Project Landscape by Jeavons Landscape Architects

Client: Department of Transport (Victoria)

Jury comment

Jeavons Landscape Architects has skilfully reclaimed a much loved but badly degraded portion of the public realm along the Merri Creek and given it new life as a sensitive and well considered space much to the delight of users and stakeholders alike.

As a design, the Clifton Hill Railway Project Landscape overcomes the challenges of unifying a long and linear site with multiple level changes to achieve an accessible path through revegetated creekland. Well-researched and ecologically sensitive planting reflects the character of the site and the materials are recycled, salvaged and robust. Travel along the path is punctuated by nodes giving the user a reason to stop and recreate in a previously derelict and abandoned space.

As the principle designer of this project, Jeavons Landscape Architects exhibited the breadth and scope of the landscape architect by having a key role in broad scale planning and visioning as well as addressing multiple functional requirements including design, planning, consultation, conservation and reclamation.

See our review of this project in Landscape Architecture Australia 134.



Published online: 14 Aug 2012
Images: Andrew Lloyd


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.