Endorsed by

2012 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Land Management

Lollipop Creek by Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture

Client: Devine Communities

Jury comment

As our cities and town push further and further into new areas, developers and communities will face important questions about the management of their new urban interface. Will the traditional methods, such as broad acre clearing, mowing and weed spraying, prevail? Or will communities embrace the opportunities to preserve, enhance and regenerate the biodiversity that could exist over their back fence.

The Lollipop Creek master plan recognises the loss of natural grasslands on the western plains of Melbourne and adopts a pragmatic and evidence-based response. The Lollipop Creek master plan retains natural rocky outcrops and other features of the interface area, minimises new disturbance and applies contemporary best practice in weed-control and grass management to stimulate regeneration of indigenous species. The use of ecological and fuel-reduction burning rarely occurs this close to new urban development, but forms an integral part of the success of the this land management program.

Data collected as part of the project confirms improved biodiversity and habitat value through increased cover of native herbs and small shrubs and a marked decrease in weed coverage.



Published online: 14 Aug 2012


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site