Endorsed by

2012 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Planning

Kimberley LNG Precinct Strategic Assessment: Ethnobiological Report, James Prices Point by UDLA

Client: Kimberley Land Council

Jury comment

This project goes beyond the norm by using the owners to interpret their own land instead of the consultant interpreting that landscape. The landscape architects’ role was significant in this process, in this collaborative partnership that has been established for truly consultative design to occur. The report notes “the interrelated impacts that occur when a physical or biological component(s) of the land’s ecology is disturbed causing cumulative effects with regard to changes in ethnobiological practice”.

The report utilises Goolarabooloo and Jabirr Jabirr traditional knowledge of plants, animals and ecological systems to form management recommendations that function at both a political and cultural level, to provide sustainable solutions to the potential impacts of the LNG precinct at James Price Point.

The outcome is a document that clearly and unequivocally values all elements of the site. Many of these values are only known by the traditional owners themselves. This document greatly facilitates the exchange of these values to achieve a rich design response.



Published online: 14 Aug 2012
Images: G Grabasch, V Margetts, V Margetts


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site