Endorsed by

2012 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

It was encouraging to see a consistent distribution of entries across almost all categories of the 2012 Tasmanian awards, countering tradition; usually entries in the residential category far outnumber the others. With a few noteworthy exceptions, extracting opportunities from a tight budget framework remains a prevalent theme in Tasmanian architecture. Last year, when I was asked to provide a review of the awards on behalf of the University of Tasmania’s School of Architecture and Design, I commented on the skill and ingenuity of the architects that was demonstrated by their capacity to leverage multiple benefits from limited means. This year, with the privilege of insight into the procurement of the projects, I would also like to acknowledge the creative collaborative partnerships – between the architectural team and consultants, builders and most particularly committed clients – that have evidently underpinned all the projects honoured here.

– Dr Ceridwen Owen, jury chair


Public Alan C Walker Award MONA – Museum of Old and New Art by Fender Katsalidis. Commendations Princes Wharf Shed 1 by Circa Morris-Nunn; Kingston High School by Hassell in collaboration with Jaws Architects; St Mary’s Cathedral Upgrade, Stage 1: Cathedral Centre by Circa Morris-Nunn; Ulverstone Sports and Leisure Complex by Philp Lighton Architects

Residential Esmond Dorney Award The Shearer’s Quarters by John Wardle Architects; Residential Alterations and Additions Award Patrick Street Residence by Liminal Spaces; Residential New Houses Commendation Lagoon Beach House by Birrelli Architects; Residential Multiple Housing Commendation Maroni Close Housing Unit Development by Architects Designhaus

Heritage Roy Sharrington Smith Award 42 Goulburn Street, Hobart by Circa Morris-Nunn

Interior Award Garagistes by Paul Johnston Architects. Commendation Tony Hill Dental by Liminal Spaces

Small Project Award Basement by Preston Lane Architects

Commercial Commendations Aboriginal Children’s Centre by Tim Penny Architecture and Interiors; Devonport Surf Life Saving Club Redevelopment by Jaws Architects

Steel Colorbond Award The Shearer’s Quarters by John Wardle Architects

Enduring Architecture Award Former Reserve Bank Building, 11 Macquarie Street Hobart by Commonwealth Department of Works

Emerging Architect Prize Peter Walker

James Blackburn Triennial Prize Trial Bay House by Heffernan Button Voss

Honourable Mention Allens Rivulet House 2 by Room 11

President’s Prize Ray Heffernan

SWT Blythe Student Prize Amy Scott for the Glenwood School of Viticulture and Oenology



Published online: 17 Jun 2012
Images: 1plus2Architecture, Brett Boardman, Jonathan Wherrett, Luke Burgess, Peter Whyte Photography, Trevor Mein


Architecture Australia, July 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Bar Design

Eighteen bars are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

372 by Ctrl Space. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Restaurant Design

Announced on 23 August, the shortlist for the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards includes 35 projects for Best Restaurant Design.

A Cafe Called John by Terroir Architects. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist: Best Cafe Design

Seventeen cafes are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site