Endorsed by

2012 National Architecture Awards

Announced at Perth’s Midland Railway Workshops on 1 November, the 2012 National Architecture Awards celebrated the poetics of space and a twin first for Tasmania.

Thirty-three projects were honoured at the 2012 National Architecture Awards in Perth on 1 November, the peak awards program from the Australian Institute of Architects. Tasmania topped and tailed the awards with historic wins in at both ends of the spectrum. Hobart’s MONA – Museum of Old and New Art by Fender Katsalidis received the state’s first-ever peak award for public architecture, the Sir Zelman Cowen Award, while Tasmania’s first Robin Boyd Award (for residential architecture) went to the Shearer’s Quarters on Bruny Island by John Wardle Architects. Both projects are uniquely Australian in their response to country and place, materiality and structure, and will no doubt inspire for decades to come.

In all, fifty-nine projects were shortlisted this year from 157 entries. (Read the National Awards jury overview here). The shortlist will be showcased in a free public exhibition of models, drawings, photography and video, at the Gallery of Australian Design in Canberra from 9 November to 1 December 2012. Included in the exhibition are the entries to the National Architecture Awards Short Film Competition, Archiflick.

2012 National Architecture Awards

Public Architecture

Sir Zelman Cowen Award
MONA – Museum of Old and New Art – Fender Katsalidis Architects

National Awards
Narbethong Community Hall – BVN Architecture
The Royal Children’s Hospital – Billard Leece Partnership and Bates Smart
Ravenswood School for Girls – BVN Architecture

National Commendation
Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium – Silvester Fuller

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Frederick Romberg Award
Monash University Student Housing, Clayton – BVN Architecture

National Awards
Heller Street Park and Residences – Six Degrees Architects
Bell Romero Houses – Chenchow Little Architects

National Commendation
58 Stevens Street – Officer Woods

Residential Architecture – Houses

Robin Boyd Award
Shearer’s Quarters – John Wardle Architects

National Award
Cliff Face House – Fergus Scott Architects with Peter Stutchbury Architecture

National Commendations
Queensberry Street House – Robert Simeoni Architects
Four-Room Cottage – Owen and Vokes
Big Hill – Kerstin Thompson Architects
Smee Schoff House – Sam Crawford Architects

Enduring Architecture

National Award
Australia Square – Harry Seidler and Associates

Heritage Architecture

Lachlan Macquarie Award
Restoration of Swifts, Darling Point – Clive Lucas Stapleton and Partners

National Award
Ormond College Academic Centre – McGlashan Everist

Commercial Architecture

Harry Seidler Award
1 Bligh Street – Architectus and Ingenhoven Architects

National Award
Adelaide Studios – Grieve Gillett and Cox Richardson in association

National Commendation
Medhurst Winery – Folk Architects

Interior Architecture

Emil Sondersten Award
John Kaldor Family Gallery, Art Gallery of New South Wales – PTW Architects

National Awards
Garagistes – Paul Johnston Architects
Inner House – Bates Smart

Urban Design

Walter Burley Griffin Award
University Lawn Precinct, RMIT University – Peter Elliot Architecture & Urban Design

National Award
Taronga Zoo Upper Entry Precinct – BVN Architecture

National Commendations
Harry’s Park – Harry Seidler and Associates
William Buckley Bridge, Barwon Heads – Peter Elliot Architecture & Urban Design
Hilton Community Centre – Bernard Seeber

International Architecture

Jørn Utzon Award
Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki – FJMT and Archimedia in association

Small Project Architecture

National Award
Real Studio: Murphy’s Creek BNT – Queensland University of Technology
Cultural Centre Amenities – Coniglio Ainsworth Architects

Sustainable Architecture

National Awards
1 Bligh Street – Architectus and Ingenhoven Architects
Heller St Park and Residences – Six Degrees Architects

Steel Architecture

Colorbond Award
Milson Island Indoor Sports Stadium – Allen Jack + Cottier Architects

Related topics

More news

See all
Italian design practice Formafantasma was commissioned by the NGV in 2017 to conduct a new body of research that investigated the impacts of the global trade in rare earth materials for consumer electronic products. $20k design challenge for e-waste

Urgent, real-world problems need creative ideas. The NGV and Creative Victoria has set designers a challenge.

The coral greenhouse be installed by the John Brewer Reef. Architects visualize greenhouse for imperilled Great Barrier Reef

An architecture practice has been commissioned to create a virtual reality animated video of an underwater sculpture showcasing reef science.

Pitt Street north building. Build-to-rent and Sydney metro combine in integrated development

Sydney’s first build to rent project will be part of an integrated development above a proposed metro station in the central city.

A previous climate march in Melbourne. Stand up and strike for climate action

A Global Climate Strike is organized for 20 September and Australian architects are urged to take a stand on the climate crisis.