2012 National Architecture Awards: Interior

Inner House by Bates Smart Interior Architecture: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Inner House is a single dwelling constructed within the 1926 First Church of Christ, Scientist church in East Sydney. The structure is erected on a platform built over the raking floor with a pair of two-storey cubes flanking the volume. These spaces contain sleeping accommodation and ancillary facilities while the central space provides living and dining areas.

The concept is derived from the formal geometry of the volume and its austerity, and the temporary nature of the new structure. The desire to leave the existing fabric untouched also drove the design.

The new structure is freestanding, lightweight, raw and designed for off-site fabrication and disassembly. It allows the authoritative austerity of the church volume to be experienced while still expressing the light and playful qualities of the interventions. Three rows of pews have been retained to permit occasional public performances on the renowned church organ.

The walls of the new building emit a soft glow at night. The floor of the space is heated and an ethanol fire provides glowing warmth and avoids the need for penetrations through the roof. The project was designed to be fabricated off-site and built in fourteen weeks, while restoration work to the original fabric continues.

This is a contemporary installation designed around the formality and symmetry of the original space.


Bates Smart
Building surveyor Denny Linker and Co
Certifier Steve Watson & Partners
Head contractor Arcon
Heritage architect GBA Heritage
Hydraulic engineer Steve Paul & Partners
Landscape architect Taylor Brammer Landscape Architects
Lighting designer The Flaming Beacon
Planning consultant Steven Layman Consulting
Quantity surveyor MBM
Structural engineer Partridge
Site Details
Location East Sydney,  Sydney,  NSW,  Australia
Project Details
Status Built
Category Residential
Type New houses



Published online: 2 Nov 2012
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2012
Images: Marcus Clinton


Architecture Australia, November 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site