2012 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects 2012 NSW Architecture Awards were celebrated at the iconic Sydney landmark Luna Park on 28 June.

BVN Architecture’s new addition to the Ravenswood School for Girls received the prestigious Sir John Sulman Medal for Public Architecture. Thirty awards, seven prizes and nine commendations were also presented.

NSW Architecture Awards

Public Architecture

Sulman Medal

Ravenswood School for Girls – BVN Architecture

Public Architecture Award

Stanmore Public School – Neeson Murcutt Architects
Sydney Grammar School Assembly Hall – PTW Architects
The Concourse, Chatswood – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp
Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium – Silvester Fuller

Public Architecture Commendation

All Saints Greek Orthodox Grammar School Gymnasium – Candalepas Associates

Urban Design

Lloyd Rees Award

Taronga Zoo Upper Entry Precinct – BVN Architecture

Urban Design Award

1 Bligh Street, Sydney – Architectus + Ingenhoven Architects
Harry’s Park – Harry Seidler and Associates

Commercial Architecture

Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award

1 Bligh Street, Sydney – Architectus + Ingenhoven Architects


9 Castlereagh Street lobby and forecourt, Sydney – Harry Seidler and Associates

Enterprise 1, Innovation Campus, University of Wollongong – Bates Smart

Interior Architecture

John Verge Award

The John Kaldor Family Gallery, Art Gallery of New South Wales – PTW Architects

Interior Architecture Award

Tusculum Street Residence – Smart Design Studio
Reuben Hills – Herbert & Mason


AECOM Sydney Workplace – BVN Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses

Wilkinson Award

Cliff Face House – Fergus Scott Architects with Peter Stutchbury Architecture

Award for Residential Architecture – Houses

Inner House – Bates Smart
Kellie Residence – David Boyle Architect
Marrickville House 2 – David Boyle Architects
Smee Schoff House – Sam Crawford Architects


Seacliff House – Chris Elliot Architects
Tusculum Street Residence – Smart Design Studio
Skirt + Rock House – Marsh Cashman Koolloos Architects

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Aaron Bolot Award

Bell Romero Houses – Chenchow Little Architects

Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Stonecutters and Knox on Bowman, Jacksons Landing – Tzannes Associates
Marina Apartments – SJB Architects
SOHO Apartments, Alexandria – SJB Architects

Sustainable Architecture

Milo Dunphy Award

1 Bligh Street, Sydney – Architectus + Ingenhoven Architects


Ausgrid Learning Centre – DEM

Small Project Architecture

Award for Small Project Architecture

House Kalafatas Challita – Tribe Studio
Red Lantern – Lacoste + Stevenson Architects with Frost
Little Napier House – Bureau SRH architecture


Greenway Award

Exeter Farm – Design 5 Architects

Award for Heritage Architecture

Central Railway Station – OCP Architects
Restoration of Swifts, Darling Point – Clive Lucas Stapleton and Partners
Metcalfe Bond – Smart Design Studio in association with Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority


Newcastle Regional Museum – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp

Award for Enduring Architecture

Australia Square – Harry Seidler and Associates

Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture

Milson Island Indoor Sports Stadium – Allen Jack+Cottier Architects

Blacket Prize

Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium – Silvester Fuller

Premier’s Prize

Giidany Miirlarl Education Space, Coffs Harbour – Fisher Design and Architecture in association with Mackenzie Pronk Architects

President’s Prize

Professor James Weirick (MLA Harvard) – University of New South Wales

Marion Mahony Griffin Prize

Julie Cracknell – Cracknell and Lonergan Architects

Emerging Architect Prize

Penny Fuller – Silvester Fuller

Adrian Ashton Prize for Architectural Journalism

David Neustein – Architectural Review Asia Pacific

Geberit Prize

Avoca Beach House – Architecture Saville Isaacs

Related topics

More news

See all
205 North Quay by Hassell, New York’s Rex and Brisbane firm Richards and Spence. Winning design for Brisbane waterfront tower unveiled

An international design team comprising Hassell, New York’s Rex and Brisbane firm Richards and Spence has taken out a design competition for a 37-storey tower …

Urban Forest tower in South Brisbane by Koichi Takada Architects. Brisbane tower sprouting 1,000 trees proposed

Koichi Takada Architects has designed a 30-storey tower for South Brisbane that will be home to five times more trees than the nearby park.

The Powerhouse Museum in Ultimo. Powerhouse Ultimo will remain open after government backflip

The NSW Government will keep the Powerhouse Museum at Ultimo open as well as build a new museum in Parramatta.

Preliminary concept render for the University of Melbourne's Fishermans Bend campus. University of Melbourne's $2b campus plan progresses

The University of Melbourne has progressed its plans for a $2 billion campus at Melbourne’s Fishermans Bend, after a stage one planning application was submitted …

Most read

Latest on site