Endorsed by

2012 NT Chapter awards announced

The NT Medical Program and Allied Health Infrastructure (Pharmacy) Facility by DKJ Projects.architecture and Woodhead has received the highest honour at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2012 Northern Territory Chapter Architecture Awards, announced on 8 June 2012.

Described by the jury as an ”impressive university initiative” that “provided the architects with a complex and ambitious brief that they have embraced enthusiastically,” this project received the Tracy Memorial Award, the Reverend John Flynn Award for Public Architecture, the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture – Commendation and the People’s Choice Award.

The Alice Springs Steiner School Stage 3 by Stephen Lumb Architect received the Public Architecture Award and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture.

“The project carries through the ideologies of site responsiveness and communities of buildings to provide a variety of places and spaces embraced by, and framing, the East McDonnell Ranges,” said the jury.

“Completed on a humble budget, this project uses its funds wisely, making use of the drama of the setting while providing an intimate collection of internal and external rooms for learning.”

Six Crerar Road by Hodgkison received a Commendation for Urban Design “in recognition of the importance of this project for its contribution to a group in our society often overlooked.”

Sanderson Middle School Amphitheatre by the Design Office, Department of Construction and Infrastructure, Northern Territory Government received a Commendation in the Small Project category “for its simplicity and the skill with which the architect has connected new structures to a distinctive school campus aesthetic, delivering the school community a delightful and unexpected new orientated space for public gatherings and social occasions.”

The jury consisted of Melanie Dodd, associate professor and program director in architecture at RMIT University; Joanna Best, principal at Troppo Architects; and Gloria Richards, senior exhibition designer at the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory.

Read the jury’s comment on the 2012 NT awards here.

Related topics

More news

See all
Hotel Rottnest Resort by Christou Design Group. Rottnest Island resort expansion underway

The construction of a large-scale expansion of a hotel on Rottnest Island in Western Australia, designed by the Christou Design Group, has begun.

Proposed stage one airport layout at Badgerys Creek. Shortlisted teams announced in Western Sydney Airport terminal design competition

Western Sydney Airport has announced the five shortlisted teams competition to design a passenger terminal for Sydney’s proposed second airport.

Curtin Bike Hub (Perth, Australia) by Coniglio Ainsworth Architects. Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Bridge of Remembrance by Denton Corker Marshall. Denton Corker Marshall completes gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct

Denton Corker Marshall has completed a new gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct, the 200-metre-long Bridge of Remembrance.

Most read

Latest on site