2013 AAA Awards: Bluescope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Bluescope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize: James Loder 2013 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

James Loder, RMIT University.

James Loder, RMIT University.

James Loder of RMIT University is the winner of the 2013 BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Loder’s hypothetical university horticulture research centre, Cider Hill, is sited in the outer-Melbourne green belt and engages with climate, agriculture and land productivity. It offers an optimistic architecture for a city experiencing rapid growth in population and urban sprawl.

Light, scale and texture have been grasped beautifully and the complexity of the program has been resolved with a clear interest in human wellbeing. The scheme strongly integrates architecture with landscape. A sequence of compressed and open spaces, distinctly architectural in their fluidity, is gradually revealed.

Evocative of the work of architects such as Carlo Scarpa and Tadao Ando, the work clearly demonstrates skill and control. There is a fine level of detail, craftsmanship and understanding of material expression demonstrated in Loder’s drawings.


The jury also awarded two commendations to Christopher Mullaney and Anthony Parsons, both of the University of Newcastle.

Anthony Parsons, University of Newcastle

Anthony Parsons’ The Iron Blow proposes a futuristic architecture for space travellers leaving Earth. Sited in an abandoned copper mine in the West Coast Range of Tasmania, Parsons’ scheme demonstrates a truly poetic architectural response to a raw, industrialized landscape.

Christopher Mullaney, University of Newcastle

Christopher Mullaney’s project Muloobinba is for a disused floating dock in the Newcastle Harbour. The rigorous and innovative design presents a framework for adaptive reuse of post-industrial infrastructure through both architecture and social entrepreneurialism.

Jury: Glenn Murcutt, LFRAIA (chair); Shelley Penn, FRAIA, Australian Institute of Architects National President; Danny Brookes, SONA President.



Published online: 20 Mar 2013


Architecture Australia, March 2013

Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site