2013 DIA SA Awards

The Laminex Group SA DIA 2013 Awards were announced on Saturday 30 November at Adelaide Gaol. The awards, run by the South Australian Chapter of the Design Institute of Australia (DIA), recognise excellence by the state’s designers and students across three disciplines: Built Environment, Object and Communication.

The Laminex Group Award

Collins Hotel – Woods Bagot

President’s Award

Delectaballs – Black Squid Design

Built Environment

Gold Award: Hilditch Lawyers – Williams Burton
Gold Award
: The Collins – Woods Bagot

Silver Award: Smartsoft – Architects Ink

Special Mention: Northern Community Mental Health Centre – Grieve Gillett


Gold Award: Flash Theatre – Alexis Bromilow (UniSA)
Gold Award:
The Bowden Common – Alana Hanton

Silver Award: Boris the Cuttery – MASH
Silver Award:
Bowden Urban Markets – Vivienne Beal (UniSA)

Commendation: The Digital Garden – Katherine Donaldson (UniSA)


Gold Award: Delectaballs – Black Squid Design

Silver Award: Brauer National Medicine – Black Squid Design
Silver Award:
Warradale Hotel (identity, signage and environmental graphics) – Enoki


Gold Award: 360∘ Swing – Exhibition Studios
Gold Award:
Folded Tones – Enoch Liew
Gold Award:
Hegs Pegs – Fingo

Silver Award: Collins Bar table and handle – Aura Objects
Silver Award:
Novel Computer Game Controller – Max Hughes
Silver Award:
Luigi Colani iPod Dock – Andrew McIntyre (UniSA)

2013 juries

Built Environment
(Panel 1) Wayne Dixon (chair), Felicity Hope, Andrew Wallace, Jane Lawrence and Donna Rafie.
(Panel 2): Ryan Genesin (chair), Martin Ridge, Wendy-Anne Press, Peter Dennis and Krystyan Mcleod.

Robert Miller-Smith (chair), Sascha Frost, Jo West, Sharon Mackay and Susie Nicolai.

Sandy Walker (chair), Jason Jurecky, Peter Schumacher, Marta Cherednik and Ron Langman.

Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site