2013 National Architecture Awards: Enduring Architecture

Australian Parliament House by Mitchell Giurgola and Thorp, 1988 Enduring Architecture: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Australia’s Parliament House was quickly identified by the jury as the clear winner of the National Enduring Architecture Award. Mitchell Giurgola and Thorp has demonstrated the power of architecture to respond to significant purpose with the best materials and craftsmanship of Australia, creating a significant place representative of who we are as a nation.

The design draws together the symbolism of the Canberra Plan and the systems of Australian governance with extraordinary spatial and material control. With exquisite craft, attention to detail and material selection, every design decision resonates with symbolism and meaning, creating a calm yet rich and layered set of spaces. Combined with thoughtful selection and integration of art, the building not only withstands the tests of time but also continues to live larger.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

The fundamental strategy of building within the form of the hill ensures that Parliament House looks like it always has and always will belong to the site and Canberra. The sequencing of spaces, manipulation of form and integration with the Griffin vision demonstrate a mastery of architecture.

This award recognizes a unique moment in Australian architecture, where political will, design excellence and pronounced search for meaning in architecture, as well as developing confidence as a nation, resulted in an extraordinary building that will continue to inspire.



Published online: 7 Nov 2013
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2013
Images: John Gollings


Architecture Australia, November 2013

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site