2013 National Architecture Awards: Public

The Braggs, University of Adelaide by BVN Donovan Hill and Hames Sharley Public Architecture: National Commendation Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The Braggs building is a strong addition to the research building typology. Combining physics, chemistry and biology facilities, it allows deeply integrated transdisciplinary research collaboration. Despite exacting technical specifications, it achieves a very comfortable and human-centric environment. The building is a well-mannered component in the university masterplan, responding to view axes and circulation routes, and framing one side of the Maths Lawn. The form and colour are a contemporary interpretation of the brick used throughout the campus. The internal planning effortlessly solves security and public access requirements.

The use of natural light and external views to what are often internal, functional spaces is the greatest achievement of the project. A long atrium runs the length of the south facade of the building and facilitates interaction and collaboration, as well as bringing light and a connection to the exterior to the basement areas. The north facade uses a series of fixed sunbreakers, blinds and sliding internal panels to allow maximum enjoyment of natural light and views with the flexibility to control it.

The design provides maximum transparency, with many spaces having both external views and atrium views. Collaborative spaces are always close at hand and are distributed throughout the atrium.

The Braggs building is a clear, elegant building of very high quality.


BVN Donovan Hill
Project Team
Abbie Galvin (project principal), Martin Langham (project director), Benjamin Donohoo (project architect), Adrian Gessner (architect), Elizabeth Carolan, Catherine Downie, Andrea Fink, Joe Fiumedinisi, Olivia Giangrasso, Todd Hammond, Gero Heimann,, Olivia Hyde, Greg Knight, Conor Larkins, Susanne Mayer, Nikita Notowidigdo, Anjalika Wijesurendra, Luise Weigand, Tom White, Fiona Young
Hames Sharley
Acoustics AECOM Adelaide
BCA Katnich Dodd
Building certifier Katnich Dodd
DDA Architecture & Access
Dangerous goods consultant Cetec Pty Ltd
Facade and fire engineer Arup Adelaide
Landscape consultant Oxigen Landscape Architects
Main contractor Baulderstone
Mechanical, electrical and hydraulic consultant BESTEC
Project management Mott MacDonald
Quantity surveyor Rider Levett Bucknall Adelaide
Structural and civil consultant Wallbridge & Gilbert
Vertical transportation BESTEC
Site details
Category Commercial / public buildings
Type Universities / colleges
Project Details
Status Built
Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.