2013 National Architecture Awards: Nicholas Murcutt Award

Djakanimba Pavilions by Insideout Architects Small Project Architecture: Nicholas Murcutt Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

In the spirit of the small project award, the Djakanimba Pavilions’ contribution to community is far in excess of their diminutive size and modest budget.

In remote Wugularr (Beswick) in the Northern Territory, an hour’s drive from Katherine, the pavilions provide an adaptable program for the Ghunmarn Culture Centre. It is a vital piece of infrastructure for the community’s arts festival, expanding the options and scope for developing content and housing collaborators.

When the jury visited, the pavilions were being used as temporary residential accommodation for a documentary filmmaker and her family, a hip-hop artist and some musicians from a nearby community, demonstrating the project’s success in attracting artists to the community festival.

Through clever use of sliding walls and fold-up beds, the pavilions can become temporary art exhibition, learning or performance spaces. They are tough, unpretentious and responsive to climate. Off-the-shelf solutions are used elegantly, and the spaces are transformed on a regular basis as envisaged. Elevated on stilts, they sit above the flood plain and surrounding buildings, creating a delightful string of indoor and outdoor spaces hovering in the scrub. The scheme has a parsimonious elegance, a refinement derived from being exactly fit for purpose on minimal means.


Insideout Architects
Belgian Gardens, Townsville, Qld, Australia
Project Team
Tania Dennis, Tamaki Broome, Kate Scattini
Artist/laser cut panels Brendan Hackett, Frankie Lane, Scott Hall, Augustina Kennedy
Builder Greeney, Fredbuild
Communications consultant The Institute of Backyard Studies (Mark Thomson)
Construction manager Fredbuild (Simon Brooks)
Cost consultant Stark Consulting & Associates (Ian Stark)
Developer Djilpin Arts (Fleur Parry and Tom E. Lewis)
Electrical and mechanical consultant CKS Electrical Mechanical (Justin Dowson)
Hydraulic consultant GHD (Lindsay Monteith)
Hydraulic services Barkly Plumbing (Brian O’Duffy)
Lighting consultant Bob Dennis
Project manager Probuild NT (Mick Betteridge)
Site inspection Skye Raabe
Steel shop drawings Accolade Steel Detailing (Josh & Tony Edwards)
Structural consultant Glynn Tucker Consulting Engineers (Andrew Maltby)
Training and enterprise Anna McLeod
Site Details
Project Details
Status Built
Category Residential
Type Small projects



Published online: 7 Nov 2013
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2013
Images: Peter Eve


Architecture Australia, November 2013

Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site