Endorsed by

2013 NSW Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects today released its shortlist for the 2013 NSW Architecture Awards. Seventy-two projects have been named finalists by five juries who will announce their winners on 27 June at Jones Bay Wharf in Sydney.

Additional awards will also be made (from the entire field of entries) for Sustainable Architecture, the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture, the Blacket Prize for regional architecture, the President’s Prize, the Premier’s Prize and the City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize.

2013 NSW Architecture Awards shortlist

Public Architecture

Charles Sturt University National Life Sciences Hub – BVN Donovan Hill
Cranbrook Junior School – Tzannes Associates
Museum of Contemporary Art RedevelopmentArchitect Marshall
The Kinghorn Cancer Centre – BVN Donovan Hill
UTS Multi-Purpose Sports Hall – PTW Architects
UTS Great Hall and Balcony RoomDRAW
Waterloo Youth Family Community CentreCollins and Turner Architects

Urban Design

Darling Quarter – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt) with Aspect Studios and Lend Lease
Pitt Street Mall Public Domain Upgrade – Tony Caro Architecture
The Former Coal LoaderHassell

Commercial Architecture

Darling Quarter – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt)
Gladesville Bridge Marina – Candalepas Associates
Sydney Eye Specialist Centre, Kingsford – Georgina Wilson Architect
The DarlingCox Richardson Architects and Planners

Interior Architecture

85 Castlereagh St Sky Lobby & Entry – John Wardle Architects
Bresic Whitney Office Fitout – Chenchow Little Architects
Lilyfield Warehouse – Virginia Kerridge Architect
The Kinghorn Cancer Centre - BVN Donovan Hill
UTS Great Hall and Balcony RoomDRAW
Woods Bagot Sydney Studio – Woods Bagot

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

Angophora House – Richard Cole Architecture
Austinmer Beach HouseAlexander Symes Architect
Brisbane Street House – Alexander &CO
Bondi House – Andrew Burges Architects
Coalcliff House – Indyk Architects
Flipped House – Marsh Cashman Koolloos Architects
Gallery House – Domenic Alvaro
Gordons Bay Residence – Madeleine Blanchfield Architects
Hunter Valley House – James Stockwell Architects
Invisible House – Peter Stutchbury Architecture
Jamberoo Farm House – Casey Brown Architecture
Lagoon House – Matt Elkan Architect
Macmasters Beach House – Neeson Murcutt Architects
Northern Beaches House – Tobias Partners
St Albans House – Rory Brooks Architects
Stewart HouseChenchow Little Architects

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)

A House With Tiles On It – Welsh + Major
Balmain House – Fox Johnston
Bellevue Hill Residence – Tzannes Associates
Chauvel House – Mary Ellen Hudson Architects
Cowshed House – Carterwilliamson Architects
Elliott Ripper House – Christopher Polly Architect
Lavender Bay Boatshed – Stephen Collier Architects
Lilyfield Warehouse – Virginia Kerridge Architect
Tenandry – Mury Architects
Tír na nÓg – Drew Heath Architects

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

29-35 Prince Street, Cronulla – Candalepas Associates
Apex Apartments – Turner Studio
Benelong Crescent – Luigi Rosselli Architects
Iglu Central – Bates Smart
Imperial – Stanisic Architects
Little Bay – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt)
Silk Apartments – Tony Caro Architecture
Telopea Social Housing – Turner Studio
The Majestic – Hill Thalis Architecture and Urban Projects
VSQ2 – Tony Caro Architecture

Small Project Architecture

Art Gallery of NSW Forecourt Upgrade – Johnson Pilton Walker
Cook Park Amenities ­– Fox Johnston
Crescent HouseAndrew Burns Architect
GridCarterwilliamson Architects
Martian EmbassyLAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)
Yurong Public Amenities – Government Architect’s Office

Heritage Architecture (Conservation)

Convict Superintendent’s House Cockatoo Island – Sydney Harbour Federation Trust
Glebe Town Hall – Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects
Hyde Park Barracks (Reconstruction of Gate Lodge Domes) – Clive Lucas Stapleton & Partners
George Bradman House, Bowral – Clive Lucas Stapleton & Partners

Heritage Architecture (Creative Adaptation)

Botanica Heritage Precinct (The Gallery) – Allen Jack + Cottier Architects
Former Paramount Studios Building – Fox Johnston
Gowings and State Theatre Buildings Restoration and Hotel Conversion, Sydney – Woodhead
Lavender Bay Boatshed – Stephen Collier Architects
The Former Coal LoaderHassell
The Majestic – Hill Thalis Architecture and Urban Projects


Public and Urban Design: Helen Lochhead (Chair) – Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority (SHFA); Bertram Beissel – Ateliers Jean Nouvel; Dale Jones-Evans – Dale Jones-Evans Architecture; and Chris Procter – Places Victoria/Project Architecture.

Commercial and Interior: Paul van Ratingen (Chair) – Johnson Pilton Walker; Tina Engelen – CO-AP Architects; Guy Lake – Bates Smart; and Peter Mould – Emeritus Government Architect.

Residential – Houses: Sam Crawford (Chair) – Sam Crawford Architects; Fenella Kernebone – ABC broadcaster; Heidi Pronk – Mackenzie Pronk Architects; and Adam Russell – DRAW.

Residential – Multiple Housing: Adam Haddow (Chair) – SJB; Stephanie Smith – Innovarchi; Marcus Trimble – Bennett & Trimble; and Josephine Wing – NSW Department of Planning and Infrastructure.

Small Project and Heritage: Darlene van der Breggen (Chair) – NSW Government Architects Office; Matthew Chan – Scale Architecture; Ian Kelly – former Heritage Manager, Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority; and Eva-Marie Prineas – Architect Prineas.

Related topics

More news

See all
Waverley Woollen Mills, Australia’s oldest working textile mill. Open House Launceston to offer up a ‘feast for the senses’

Some 34 building will be on show at Open House Launceston, happening on Saturday 7 September as part of the Junction Arts Festival.

The refurbished Sydney Opera House concert hall. Contracts awarded for Sydney Opera House concert hall renewal

The Sydney Opera House has announced that it has awarded two contracts for the renewal of the iconic building’s concert hall – part of the …

Marrickville Library and Pavilion by BVN. BVN completes new Marrickville Library and Pavilion

BVN has completed a new library and community hub in the Sydney suburb of Marrickville that features a soaring interior and a folding roof canopy.

Science Gallery Melbourne by Smart Design Studio. Smart Design Studio unveils science gallery design shaped by ‘hidden forces of nature’

Smart Design Studio has unveiled initial designs for the interior of a proposed museum dedicated to the sciences in Melbourne.

Most read

Latest on site