Endorsed by

2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards

The 2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards (AAAA) were announced on 20 March at Peppermint Bay in Woodbridge Tasmania.

The coveted Gold Medal, the highest honour bestowed on an individual by the Australian Institute of Architects, was this year awarded to Phil Harris and Andrew Welke of Troppo Architects, for their outstanding body of community-focused regional architecture, spanning nearly four decades. From humble beginnings in the Northern Territory capital of Darwin, their studio today also includes a presence in Adelaide, Perth, Townsville and Byron Bay. “Their work pioneers the unique approach to Australian architecture: irreverent but sophisticated inventive with a twinge of larrikin spirit,” said AIA national president, Professor Paul Berkemeier.

As the judging of new projects in this year’s architecture awards swings into gear Australia-wide, the AAAA is a moment’s pause to reflect on the achievements and legacies of individuals within the profession – from emerging and established practitioners, to educators, students and leaders. Among the 2014 recipients, the late Ross Langdon was postumously awarded the National President’s Prize. Langdon, a co-founder of Regional Associates (Victoria & Tasmania), was working on humanitarian projects in Africa when he and his partner were killed in a terrorist attack in Nairobi in September 2013. “Ross was a great Australian and exceptional world citizen,” said Professor Berkemeier. “He was a talented architect and an inspirational leader who was well on the way to shaping a better world future. He has left a great legacy and example for all the profession.”

2014 National President’s Prize winner Ross Landgon, with his partner Elif Yavuz.

2014 National President’s Prize winner Ross Landgon, with his partner Elif Yavuz.

Below is the full list of 2014 AAAA winners. Click through to read jury citations.

Gold Medal – Adrian Welke & Phil Harris (Troppo Architects)

National President’s Prize – Ross Langdon (Regional Associates)

William J. Mitchell International Committee Prize – Jackie Cooper & Haig Beck (UME)

Dulux Study Tour Ben Milbourne, Jenna Rowe, Suzannah Waldron, Cherry Williamson, Michael Zanardo

Colorbond Steel Student Biennale – Jessica Chidester (RMIT University)

National Emerging Architect Prize – Andrew Burns

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture HY William Chan (University of Sydney)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize – John Macdonald, DesignInc

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize – Miles Lewis (University of Melbourne)

Related topics

More news

See all
Science Gallery Melbourne by Smart Design Studio. Smart Design Studio unveils science gallery design shaped by ‘hidden forces of nature’

Smart Design Studio has unveiled initial designs for the interior of a proposed museum dedicated to the sciences in Melbourne.

North Tower design by Johnson Pilton Walker. NSW gov’t approves towers over Martin Place metro

The NSW premier has announced that an unsolicited proposal for a pair of office towers integrated with a new metro station on Sydney’s Martin Place …

The proposed $530 million Star Casino hotel and residential tower in Pyrmont, designed by FJMT, was rejected by the planning department. 'Open for business': NSW gov't lauches snap planning review for Pyrmont

The NSW government has directed the Greater Sydney Commission to immediately review planning rules “to ensure they are consistent with the government’s vision.”

The proposed Macaulay Terraces in the Moonee Ponds Creek Strategic Opportunities Plan. Council endorses plan to transform ‘neglected’ Moonee Ponds Creek corridor

City of Melbourne councillors have voted to approve the final Moonee Ponds Creek Strategic Opportunities Plan, which calls for new green public spaces that will …