Endorsed by

2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards

The 2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards (AAAA) were announced on 20 March at Peppermint Bay in Woodbridge Tasmania.

The coveted Gold Medal, the highest honour bestowed on an individual by the Australian Institute of Architects, was this year awarded to Phil Harris and Andrew Welke of Troppo Architects, for their outstanding body of community-focused regional architecture, spanning nearly four decades. From humble beginnings in the Northern Territory capital of Darwin, their studio today also includes a presence in Adelaide, Perth, Townsville and Byron Bay. “Their work pioneers the unique approach to Australian architecture: irreverent but sophisticated inventive with a twinge of larrikin spirit,” said AIA national president, Professor Paul Berkemeier.

2014 National President’s Prize winner Ross Landgon, with his partner Elif Yavuz.

2014 National President’s Prize winner Ross Landgon, with his partner Elif Yavuz.

As the judging of new projects in this year’s architecture awards swings into gear Australia-wide, the AAAA is a moment’s pause to reflect on the achievements and legacies of individuals within the profession – from emerging and established practitioners, to educators, students and leaders. Among the 2014 recipients, the late Ross Langdon was postumously awarded the National President’s Prize. Langdon, a co-founder of Regional Associates (Victoria & Tasmania), was working on humanitarian projects in Africa when he and his partner were killed in a terrorist attack in Nairobi in September 2013. “Ross was a great Australian and exceptional world citizen,” said Professor Berkemeier. “He was a talented architect and an inspirational leader who was well on the way to shaping a better world future. He has left a great legacy and example for all the profession.”

Below is the full list of 2014 AAAA winners. Click through to read jury citations.

Gold Medal – Adrian Welke & Phil Harris (Troppo Architects)

National President’s Prize – Ross Langdon (Regional Associates)

William J. Mitchell International Committee Prize – Jackie Cooper & Haig Beck (UME)

Dulux Study Tour Ben Milbourne, Jenna Rowe, Suzannah Waldron, Cherry Williamson, Michael Zanardo

Colorbond Steel Student Biennale – Jessica Chidester (RMIT University)

National Emerging Architect Prize – Andrew Burns

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture HY William Chan (University of Sydney)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize – John Macdonald, DesignInc

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize – Miles Lewis (University of Melbourne)

Related topics

More news

See all
Italian design practice Formafantasma was commissioned by the NGV in 2017 to conduct a new body of research that investigated the impacts of the global trade in rare earth materials for consumer electronic products. $20k design challenge for e-waste

Urgent, real-world problems need creative ideas. The NGV and Creative Victoria has set designers a challenge.

The coral greenhouse be installed by the John Brewer Reef. Architects visualize greenhouse for imperilled Great Barrier Reef

An architecture practice has been commissioned to create a virtual reality animated video of an underwater sculpture showcasing reef science.

Pitt Street north building. Build-to-rent and Sydney metro combine in integrated development

Sydney’s first build to rent project will be part of an integrated development above a proposed metro station in the central city.

A previous climate march in Melbourne. Stand up and strike for climate action

A Global Climate Strike is organized for 20 September and Australian architects are urged to take a stand on the climate crisis.