Endorsed by

2014 AAA Awards: Architectural Education Prize

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize: Miles Lewis 2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Miles Lewis, Professor Emeritus in the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning at the University of Melbourne, is an internationally renowned figure in the discipline of architectural history. Professor Lewis’s research and teaching over the last four decades has significantly shaped generations of academics and practitioners in Australia and overseas – individuals who, with him, have proceeded to influence heritage and conservation policy, the institutionalization, documentation and conservation of vernacular architecture, and the mobilization of communities on heritage conservation matters.

Professor Miles Lewis, University of Melbourne.

Professor Miles Lewis, University of Melbourne.

Image: Isamu Sawa

Professor Lewis is the editor and principal author of many books, including the giant seminal text Architectura: Elements of Architectural Style (New York: Barron’s Educational Series, 2008). He was instrumental in drafting the Burra Charter, now recognized internationally as a key heritage protection document. His longstanding engagement with vernacular architecture has earned him an honorary life membership of the Comité International d’Architecture Vernaculaire. Professor Lewis has undertaken consultancies with clients including the then Commonwealth Department of Housing and Construction and Australian Heritage Commission, as well as a long list of regional councils. Overseas projects include work for the Tianjin Urban Planning and Design Institute, contributing to the proposed World Heritage Listing of Hälsingland, Sweden, and being a World Heritage referee in relation to Macao, Galle, Damascus and Prague.

Professor Lewis’s intellectual rigour and holistic approach to teaching is highly valued. He is legendary for his attention to detail and expectations of professional standards in writing, and he is at his best in mentoring his postgraduate candidates. Professor Lewis’s teaching notes, images and research is made available to a wide audience through extensive online databases.

Professor Lewis is a Member of the Order of Australia for his service to architectural history, heritage protection and urban planning, particularly through policy development and professional organizations.

Jury Professor Paul Berkemeier LFRAIA (chair) Australian Institute of Architects National President, Paul Berkemeier Architect; Professor Stephen Loo RAIA Head of School, University of Tasmania; Associate Professor Uwe Reiger NZIA AASA President; Angus Hardwick SONA Vice-President; Dr Shane Murray FRAIA Dean, Faculty of Art Design and Architecture, Monash University.



Published online: 20 Mar 2014


Architecture Australia, March 2014

Related topics

More award

See all
Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. ‘Sensitive’ and ‘tactile’: The winners of the 2019 Houses Awards announced

A 110-metre-long shed has been named Australian House of the Year at the 2019 Houses Awards, announced on Friday 26 July.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. 2019 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill is winner of the award for Australian House of the Year in the 2019 Houses Awards.

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects. 2019 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects is the winner of the award for Sustainability in the 2019 Houses Awards.

Most read

Latest on site