2014 AAA Awards: National President’s Prize

National President’s Prize: Ross Langdon (Regional Associates) 2014 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Ross Langdon, co-founder of Regional Associates, and his partner Elif Yavuz.

Ross Langdon, co-founder of Regional Associates, and his partner Elif Yavuz.

Ross Langdon is posthumously awarded the 2014 National President’s Prize. A great Australian and an exceptional world citizen, he was senselessly killed, along with his pregnant partner, Elif Yavuz, in the brutal terrorist attack on a Nairobi shopping centre in September 2013. He was only thirty-two years old. At the time, Langdon and Yavuz were living in Dar es Salaam in Tanzania and working on humanitarian, aid and public projects.

Langdon was born in Brisbane, grew up in Tasmania’s south-east and commenced his first degree at the University of Tasmania. He then transferred to the University of Sydney where he completed a Bachelor of Design in Architecture with honours and received the University Medal. After working with several distinguished Sydney architects, he received a scholarship from the British Council Australia and moved to Europe. In 2008 he co-founded Regional Associates with Campbell Drake and Ben Milbourne. Langdon undertook projects in Norway and Denmark, then in Uganda, Rwanda and Kenya, where he recently completed an AIDS hospital. His work is notable for its community engagement and use of recycled and upcycled materials.

Langdon was a talented architect and an inspirational leader who left a great legacy and example for all in the profession. He was well on the way to shaping a better world future.

National President of the Australian Institute of Architects, Professor Paul Berkemeier LFRAIA.

Ross Langdon’s family established a scholarship fund to assist design students in Tasmania who are passionate about sustainable and locally sensitive design.



Published online: 20 Mar 2014


Architecture Australia, March 2014

Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site