Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Awards jury announced

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has announced its jury for 2014 National Landscape Architecture Awards. Four landscape architects and one architect selected from across the country will meet in May to deliberate on the eighty-two entries. The winners will be announced in October as part of the inaugural Festival of Landscape Architecture in Brisbane, 16-18 October.

In an industry focused on confronting the issues of climate change, landscape architects around Australia are recognizing that they are well placed to be a lead profession in the innovation and creativity required to shift to a more sustainable way of developing and living in an environment under pressure.

“Landscape architecture is a profession for the future and our awards are a celebration of outstanding work,” said Mark Frisby, recently elected new national president of AILA. “AILA is currently experiencing an exciting period of change and, as part of this process the national awards program is set to be reviewed with the aim of having a new program in place for 2015. The review of the awards program will ensure that AILA is recognising the increasingly diverse project work undertaken by its members.”

About the jury

2014 AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards jury (from left): Daniel Bennett, Catherine Keirnan, Adrian Pilton, Shane Thompson and Lorrae Wild.

2014 AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards jury (from left): Daniel Bennett, Catherine Keirnan, Adrian Pilton, Shane Thompson and Lorrae Wild.

Daniel Bennett is currently the city design and transport manager at Adelaide City Council and former vice president of the South Australian chapter of AILA. As a former principal of Hassell and director of his own practice DJB_LA, he has fifteen years’ experience as a landscape architect and urban designer.

Catherine Keirnan has consulted exensively with governments in strategic policy making, urban planning and design. She has been appointed repeatedly to ACT Heritage Council and ACT Urban Design Advisory Committee. As a landscape architect, she has also worked in private practice as well as in teaching roles at University of Canberra.

Adrian Pilton is director of JPW with forty years’ experience in urban and landscape design. He is a former national president of AILA, president of the NSW branch of Association of Consulting Architects and chairman of the NSW Building Design Professions Group.

Shane Thompson is principal of his own practice and a former principal of BVN Architecture (now BVN Donovan Hill) and the immediate past president of Australian Institute Architects Queensland chapter. His many board positions have included Queensland Board for Urban Places, Queensland Industry Advisory Board and Queensland College of Art Industry Advisory Board.

Lorrae Wild has extensive experience in landscape and urban design in the public sector. She a formerly regional landscape architect for Latrobe, Victoria, and now leads the landscape and urban design team at VicRoads. Her work focuses on urban renewal around around railway station that lead to better precinct and transit planning.

Related topics

More news

See all
Penelope Seidler Penelope and Harry Seidler inducted into Australian Property Hall of Fame

Architect Penelope Seidler and her late husband Harry Seidler have been inducted into the Australian Property Hall of Fame.

La Trobe University’s Sports Park stage two by Warren and Mahoney. Warren and Mahoney’s La Trobe Sports Park stage two kicks off

Construction has begun for the second stage of the La Trobe Sports Park development, designed by Warren and Mahoney.

Quandamooka Art, Museum and Performance Institute by Cox Architecture. Government funds construction of North Stradbroke Island Indigenous cultural centre

The Quandamooka Art, Museum and Performance Institute (QUAMPI), designed by Cox Architecture, has received $4.5 million in funding from the state government.

Bendigo Hospital Project by Silver Thomas Hanley with Bates Smart and Oculus was the winner of the Built Projects – City and Regional Scale award in 2018. Jury announced: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

The jury for the 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards has been announced.

Most read

Latest on site