2014 Houses Awards: Commendations

New House under 200 m2

Premaydena Residence (Tas) – Misho + Associates
Venus Bay Bach (Vic) – MRTN Architects

New House over 200 m2

Desert House (NT) – Dunn & Hillam Architects
Hover House (Vic) – Bower Architecture
Middle Park House (Vic) – Jackson Clements Burrows Architects
Cooper Park House (NSW) – Tobias Partners
Karri Loop House (WA) – MORQ

House Alteration and Addition under 200 m2

Jewel House (Vic) – Karen Abernethy Architects
3×2 House (NSW) – Panovscott
Westgarth House (Vic) – Kennedy Nolan Architects
Panorama Drive (Qld) – Owen and Vokes and Peters

House Alteration and Addition over 200 m2

West End Tower (Qld) – Owen and Vokes and Peters
St Kilda East House (Vic) – Clare Cousins Architects

Apartment or Unit

Black House (Vic) – Andrew Maynard Architects
Balmain Apartment (NSW) – Durbach Block Jaggers
North Melbourne Townhouses (Vic) – Freadman White Architects

House in a Heritage Context

Blandford (NSW) – Nick Bell D&A
St Kilda East House (Vic) – Clare Cousins Architects


Cubo Rear Garden (Vic) – PHOOEY Architects in collaboration with Simon Ellis Landscape Architects


Argyle (Vic) – S2 design
Stonewood (Vic) – Breathe Architecture

See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.

Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site