Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

2014 National Award for Design River Quay Cardno

Jury comment

River Quay is part of a new dining and recreation development at the southern end of the Southbank precinct in Brisbane. It enjoys a wonderful location on the riverbank, facing north with a direct view to the CBD skyline. Although small in size and integrated with a number of new restaurant and cafe pavilions, it provides a much needed new green space in a city where there is a paucity of parkland. Its understated form of grassed embankments and terraces facilitates both informal and formal or programmed activities. The key gesture of an elegant sweep in the pedestrian boulevard away from the river and in front of the dining areas sets up a series of gestures abstracting “tidelines.” Particularly successful are the new terraces offering passive views over the river and the city skyline, and the broad flat lawn where children can play under easy observation. This has quickly become a very popular part of Southbank. Where it might easily have been overworked, it shows an elegant restraint that capitalizes on the waterfront, aspect and prospect.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site