Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

2014 National Award for Design Prince Alfred Park and Pool Sue Barnsley Design, Neeson Murcutt and City of Sydney

Jury comment

The remaking of Prince Alfred Park and its pool was based on premiating landscape over built form. The removal of the old pool facility from the middle of the park allowed the landscape to return to its pastoral state. New pathways echo desire lines and swales collect stormwater for re-use on the playing field. More formal activities are concentrated around the edge of the park, allowing a predominant character of rolling grassland. The green roof on the new pool building, folded out of the landscape, is planted with native meadow grasses through which the building seems to disappear. There is an emphasis on playful details, such as the light and ventilation funnels protruding through the roof as follies and the yellow umbrellas on the pool lawn. This is not to deny the serious ecological agenda underlying the work but rather demonstrates that for this park, developing its visual language was as important as planning strategies in making this a much loved place by the community.

For more coverage, read Julian Raxworthy’s review from Landscape Architecture Australia 141, February 2014.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site