Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: National President’s Award

2014 National President's Award WA Women in Landscape Architecture Greg Grabasch UDLA

Jury comment

This short film by Greg Grabasch is based on informal interviews with West Australian women working in landscape architecture. The idea arose from a debate at a National Council meeting over whether there should be an Institute award specifically for women. This morphed into the question of whether there are other ways the profession could better support women and address potential gender imbalances, prompting the questioning of women themselves about these topics.

The film is a passionate portrayal of women in the profession and their sense of shared responsibility and empathy for their community of practice. It challenges the profession to develop engagement and practice models that are more inclusive and nurturing of women while providing an historical record of their views in an era of growth and change.

This award recognizes Greg’s generosity of spirit in initiating and funding the film and also his deep commitment to understanding some of the preconceptions and therefore untangling some of the issues facing women in contemporary practice. We commend the film and its insights to the profession as a whole.

Watch the film and interviews here.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site