Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: Planning

2014 National Award for Planning Slack Creek Futures Study Lat27

Jury comment

The waterways that dissect Logan City have economic, environmental and social values and are an important component of the cityscape. The consultant team undertook a strategic planning process and the study documents a long-term vision for the twelve-square-kilometre catchment to aid Council in undertaking transformative activities.

The study researched and identified issues, then documented a series of measures and green infrastructure investments for waterway improvement and parkland activation. As Slacks Creek winds its way through the city, it passes across residential areas, industrial and commercial centres and infill development sites. The study illustrates a vision of connecting people with a more healthy urban waterway.

From the broad scale of the catchment down to the details of proposed parklands, this study clearly and powerfully communicates the potential of future improvements and demonstrates the multidisciplinary collaboration that is needed in landscape planning.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.