Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: Research & Communication

2014 National Award for Research & Communication Tickle Booklets Taylor Cullity Lethlean

Jury comment

As a profession, landscape architects tend not to record the reasons for the success or failure of their projects, even though doing so could provide guidance for themselves and others in the future. Taylor Cullity Lethlean has recognized this and has instituted a research unit dedicated to capturing and distilling the lessons learned not only from their own projects, but also from projects designed by other firms. More importantly, the practice has generously set out to share its research with colleagues in the landscape architecture community.

The research is carried out through a culture of staff involvement and includes alliances with fellow professionals. The findings are disseminated through a series of booklets named Tickle, of which five have been produced to date, on topics including waterfronts and streetscapes. These booklets are beautifully designed and present the material in a serious yet easily comprehensible format.

The jury commends Taylor Cullity Lethlean for this important contribution to the profession.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site