Endorsed by

2014 Newcastle Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its 2014 Newcastle Architecture Awards on Thursday 6 March, at Merewether Surfhouse. Nine projects from twenty-one entries were recognized. The winning projects now have the opportunity to be presented to the NSW Architecture Awards’ juries for consideration of state honours, to be announced on 26 June 2014.

On the 2014 jury were: Peter Kemp (chair and principle at Kemp Consulting), Ramsey Awad (senior lecturer, School of Architecture and Built Environment, University of Newcastle), Robert Donaldson (trustee, The Architecture Foundation), Alex Kibble (director, Tanner Kibble Denton Architects), Peter Johnson (retired director of EJE Architecture) and graduate Rebecca Boyle.

Public Architecture Awards
- Birubi Point Surf Life Saving Club – EJE Architecture
- Newcastle Museum – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT)

Commercial Architecture Award
Westrac Newcastle Service Centre & Training Institute (Tomago) – EJE Architecture

Residential Architecture – Alts & Adds Award
MacMasters Beach House – Dianna Thomas Architect

Residential Architecture – Alts & Adds Commendation
Hamilton House – Austin McFarland Architects

Residential Architecture – New Houses Award
New Residence The Junction – EJE Architecture

Residential Architecture – New Houses Commendation
Willis House – Killen + Doran Architects

Small Project Award
Maxim Workplace – Space Design Architecture

Small Project Commendation
The University of Newcastle Library Courtyard – CKDS Architecture

More award

See all
Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. ‘Sensitive’ and ‘tactile’: The winners of the 2019 Houses Awards announced

A 110-metre-long shed has been named Australian House of the Year at the 2019 Houses Awards, announced on Friday 26 July.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. 2019 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill is winner of the award for Australian House of the Year in the 2019 Houses Awards.

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects. 2019 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects is the winner of the award for Sustainability in the 2019 Houses Awards.