2014 NSW Architecture Awards: David Lindner Prize

David Lindner Prize: Ben Wollen
NSW Architecture Awards
Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Ben Wollen.

Ben Wollen is the worthy recipient of this year’s Prize for his submission entitled “Conflicts on the periphery – an investigation into the urban renewal of post‐bushfire affected areas”. This research seeks to offer insight into the current approach to the urban renewal of bushfire ‐affected areas and offer a starting point for possible alternatives which approach the issue from beyond a building level to a community one. An examination of the rebuilding of the Winmalee community will provide a real‐time case study for this research. 

The jury unanimously agreed on Ben as this year’s recipient. His submission was considered highly relevant to the future of NSW communities in the bush and its focus – on using architectural solutions to improve community resilience to bushfire – in keeping with the objectives of the Prize. It is anticipated that the outcomes of the work will provide an opportunity for debate within the architectural profession and the broader community.

The proposal will be featured at an exhibition to coincide with this year’s Sydney Architecture Festival and the outcomes of Ben’s research will be published in the 2015 Summer edition of Architecture Bulletin.

Established in 2013, this prize is named in memory of the architect David Lindner who disappeared whilst travelling in Iran in 1997. Initiated by David Lindner’s family as a means to honour his memory, this prize aims to encourage emerging architects to contribute to the growth, innovation and development of architectural design and theory.

2014 Jury: Robyn Lindner (chair), Joseph Loh (SJB/DARCH Committee), Peter Mould (Emeritus Government Architect), Nathan Etherington (Scale Architecture/2013 David Lindner Prize winner).

More award

Most read