Endorsed by

2014 Think Brick Awards

The 2014 Think Brick Awards were announced on Friday 8 August at Crown Palladium in Melbourne. This annual awards program recognizes the creative use of brick and masonry by Australian architects and designers across a range of building types.

This year, twenty-five projects were chosen from 281 entries in five categories including a landscape award – which was this year renamed in honour of the eminent landscape architect Bruce Mackenzie. Also added this year was the Roof Tiles Excellence Award, a new category that recognizes design excellence in the use of concrete and terracotta roof tiles for both commercial and residential projects.

Each category winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, and the Grand Prix Award winner also receives a trip for two to the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale.

On the 2014 jury were: Neil Durbach (Durbach Block Jaggers), Emma Williamson (CODA Studio), Sheila O’Donnell and John Tuomey (O’Donnell + Tuomey, Ireland), Cameron Bruhn (Architecture Media) and Elizabeth McIntyre (Think Brick).

See winners from previous years at Think Brick awards.



UNSW Kensington Colleges (NSW) by Bates Smart.

UNSW Kensington Colleges (NSW) by Bates Smart.

Image: Peter Bennetts

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award winner and Grand Prix winner

UNSW Kensington Colleges (NSW) – Bates Smart

Jury comment: This is a compelling suite of buildings that exploit the inherent qualities and innovative potential of brick to great effect. Designed and built with an enviable attention to detail this exemplary project sets a new benchmark for the student housing typology.

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award finalists

Dallas Brooks Community Primary School (Vic) – McBride Charles Ryan

Firbank Grammar Learning Hub (Vic) – ARM Architecture

Foley Park Amenities (NSW) – Stanic Harding

North Melbourne Townhouses (Vic) – Freadman White Architects


Aperture House (Qld) by Cox Rayner Architects and Twofold Studio.

Aperture House (Qld) by Cox Rayner Architects and Twofold Studio.

Image: Christopher Frederick Jones

Horbury Hunt Residential Award winner

Aperture House (Qld) – Cox Rayner Architects and Twofold Studio

Jury comment: This humble worker’s cottage has been deftly extended. Aperture House is a home for a lifetime that celebrates the activities and beauty of daily life. A series of artful and finely crafted brick elements create spaces, edges and openings that are inherently adaptable and atmospheric.

Horbury Hunt Residential Award finalists

Alexandra Street House (Vic) – Robert Simeoni Architects

Fairbairn Rd (Vic) – Inglis Architects

Jewel House (Vic) – Karen Abernethy Architects

Skylight House (NSW) – Andrew Burges Architects


Clayfield House (Qld) by Richards and Spence.

Clayfield House (Qld) by Richards and Spence.

Image: Alicia Taylor

Kevin Borland Masonry Award winner

Clayfield House (Qld) – Richards and Spence

Jury comment: At the Clayfield House concrete masonry is imbued with a luxurious quality, elevating its status. The subtle, textural contrasts and modular interplay gives the blockwork a warm glow and creates an elegant backdrop to daily life.

Kevin Borland Masonry Award finalists

Curlewis House (Vic) – NMBW Architecture Studio

Fairfield Hacienda (Vic) – MRTN Architects

Kew Residential Home (Vic) – Onoff Architecture Studio

Pyalong Police Station (Vic) – Judd Lysenko Marshall Architects


Devonport Surf Life Saving Club Precinct (Tas) by Hansen Partnership.

Devonport Surf Life Saving Club Precinct (Tas) by Hansen Partnership.

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award winner

Devonport Surf Life Saving Club Precinct (Tas) – Hansen Partnership

Jury comment: This expansive concourse and plaza in Devonport are simultaneously organic and structured. The metaphoric waves in the paving pattern gather together all the public uses and structures, creating a new focus for the club and community.

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award finalists

Box Hill Gardens Multi Purpose Area (Vic) – ASPECT Studios + NMBW Architecture Studio

Cubo Rear Garden (Vic) – PHOOEY Architects collaborating with Simon Ellis Landscape Architects

Saint Kilda House (Vic) – Clare Cousins Architects

Wet N Wild Sydney (NSW) – Site Image Landscape Architects


A House with Tiles On It (NSW) by Welsh + Major Architects.

A House with Tiles On It (NSW) by Welsh + Major Architects.

Image: Benjamin Hosking

Roof Tiling Excellence Award winner

A House with Tiles On It (NSW) – Welsh + Major Architects

Jury comment: The conceptual directness of this project belies its extraordinary sophistication. This is an innovative addition to a federation house that respects the qualities of the neighborhood and reenergizes the building for a new generation.

Roof Tiling Excellence Award finalists

Bristile Roofing Port Macquarie (NSW) – Lanfranchi Housing

Canterbury Residence (Vic) – Phillip Mannerheim Architect

Knox Grammar Great Hall (NSW) – Jones Sonter Architects

The Shingle House (Vic) – Clare Cousins Architects

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site