Endorsed by

2015 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Bar Design winner

Best Bar Design
Smalls by Fiona Lynch Office
South Melbourne, Victoria

Jury comment:

Smalls by Fiona Lynch Office is a very welcome addition to the local bar scene. Rather than screaming its presence, it whispers in a husky Belgian accent of its European aesthetic roots. This is partly achieved through the colour and materials palette – moody, muted putties, flat blues and concrete greys offset by the occasional glimmer of glassware and brass – but also by the artisanal aspect of the installation. Handmade ceramic tiles by Porcelain Bear clad the bar. Leather hides stitched by Made Measure are crafted into tarpaulins to cover a wall. Camm Upholstery is responsible for the open joined banquettes. Articulated into a thirty-square-metre semi-industrial volume of white-painted brick walls, herringbone parquet and steel grid frames, Smalls epitomizes a new urban elegance with fine detailing such as Carrara marble tabletops, aged black leather and charcoal velvet upholstery. A sculptural brass column emits a soft, seductive glow. Everywhere you look there is a touch of class.

20–22 Yarra Place
South Melbourne Vic 3205

Fiona Lynch Office
38 Glasshouse Road
Collingwood Vic 3066



Published online: 17 Nov 2015
Images: Dan Hocking


Artichoke, December 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site