Endorsed by

2015 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Cafe Design winner

Best Cafe Design
The Kettle Black by Studio You Me
South Melbourne, Victoria

Jury comment:

The Kettle Black sits at the apotheosis of cafe design right now – light, airy, spacious, where everything is carefully considered yet it all comes across as insouciant in the extreme. There’s a knowing nonchalance to the asymmetry of the mosaic-floored entry with its deliberate juggling of disparate materials – an ordinary concrete construction pipe transformed through a lining of brass into a classy washbasin pretty much sums it up. Elegantly compelling, the lobby promises a stylish, poised dining experience that fills a unique niche between cafe and restaurant. And the dining rooms flanking the entryway fulfil that promise, with their warm oak joinery, brushed brass display racks and cheeky pistachio-coloured seating. One half of The Kettle Black occupies the ground floor of a Victorian manor, the other the base for a rather brutal new build. The skill is in melding those extreme contexts into a gracious new whole. The touch is light, but the effect is one of gravitas.

The Kettle Black
50 Albert Road
South Melbourne Vic 3205

Studio You Me



Published online: 17 Nov 2015
Images: Peter Clarke


Artichoke, December 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site