Endorsed by

2015 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Cafe Design winner

Best Cafe Design
Abbots & Kinney by Studio-Gram
Adelaide, South Australia

Jury comment:

Adelaide’s Abbots & Kinney is 2015’s poster child for excellence in craftsmanship. The expressed timber frame wall, with its horizontal and diagonal noggings, encourages the eye to move through the space, echoing the strong diagonal “split” between honey-coloured wood and matt black zones. The black floor, extending up the wall to bisect the ceiling, creates a sense of intimacy and enclosure. The central bleacher-style seating adds sculptural interest, but is also a paean to technique – its refined mortise and tenon jointing is an adaptation of a traditional Japanese self-suspension system. What’s more, it’s operationally functional, encouraging swift circulation of in-house traffic through the compact space. Simple wire-framed safety glass onto the kitchen and raw concrete on the floor speak of honesty and integrity but also a refinement of taste. In fact, it’s in the play between the radical simplicity of the overall concept and the extraordinary accomplishment of the execution and finish that this little bijoux truly shines.

Abbots & Kinney
78 Pirie Street
Adelaide SA 5000

Suite 406, 33 Pirie Street
Adelaide SA 5000



Published online: 17 Nov 2015
Images: David Sievers


Artichoke, December 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site