Endorsed by

2015 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Identity Design winner

Best Identity Design
Bang Street Food by Sonnet
Surry Hills, New South Wales

Jury comment:

Bang Street Food grabbed our attention from the get-go. The name is terrific for what it signifies – Bangladeshi street food – and for the way it encapsulates this upbeat eatery purpose built to end a late night out with much more than a fizzle. The interior design and graphic identity are so integral to one another as to be almost indistinguishable and the “bang” is everywhere. In the pop art-like “explosion” logo; Arne Jacobsen’s black and white typography plates at each setting; the way food is presented on sheets of the Daily Azadi, the first newspaper of Bangladeshi independence; the retina-spinning Bengal tiger T-shirts worn by staff (the Bengal tiger also figures on the menu placemats, roaring “Bang For Your Buck”); and even that erotic red light bathing the bare brick walls, which seems somehow to promise a bang, if of a slightly different variety. Fun, funky, piquant comme il faut, just like the very excellent food and signature craft beer on offer.

Bang Street Food
3/410 Crown Street
Surry Hills NSW 2010

Ground floor, 71 York Street
Sydney NSW 2000



Published online: 17 Nov 2015
Images: Michael Wee


Artichoke, December 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site