2015 National Architecture Awards: Commercial

The GPT Group’s Wollongong Central by HDR Rice Daubney Commercial Architecture: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The GPT Group’s Wollongong Central redefines the role of a shopping centre as an important city node and as having a responsibility beyond its property boundaries. An exemplary retail precinct has been created that connects outwards rather than solely focusing inwards. It makes a significant contribution to revitalizing the City of Wollongong on multiple levels. It strengthens pedestrian urban connections and sets up a visual dialogue with this regional city. It re-establishes a connection to place through design and detail interpretations of Wollongong’s industrial past and local native flora. It also provides a commercial incubator that gives Wollongong the confidence to further develop and activate its central business district.

Wollongong Central benefits from conceptual depth in its visual articulation and in its planning. It shows how a quality retail precinct can revitalize a city through: integrating into its circulation urban laneways that reinforce connections to the city; seamlessly incorporating large public artworks; creating attractive, naturally lit environments for the shopping experience; providing intelligent public amenity; and improving the commercial environment to the point where the demand for leasing tenancies outstrips supply.

The jury was particularly impressed by the architects’ passion for making a difference, by the developer’s foresight in seeing value in design excellence, and by the strong relationship that was developed with the City of Wollongong. This project is a showcase of how vision is developed, realized and achieved through collaboration and shared aspirations.


HDR Rice Daubney
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Project Team
Stephen Auld (project architect); Susanne Pini (design architect); Kylie Soltani, Ciaran Durney, Stefano Cottini, Hugh Irving, Sandra Stewart, John Peachey, Lionel Kettler, Stephan Langella, Graham Reynolds, Simon Grimes, Robert Byrne, Jason Roberts, Graham Steer, David Hart, Scott Gould, Tony Rastrick
Builder Hansen Yuncken
Landscape consultant JMD Design
Lighting consultant Electrolight
Services consultant Hyder Consulting
Structural consultant Enstruct Group
Site Details
Project Details
Status Built
Category Public / commercial



Published online: 5 Nov 2015
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2015
Images: Simon Grimes


Architecture Australia, November 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Will and Co by Alexander and Co. Shortlist revealed: 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards

The shortlist for the 17th annual Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced.

Avli by Tashas by B and S Studio. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Hospitality Design

In the Hospitality Design category of the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards 45 projects have been shortlisted.

17 Spring Street by Bates Smart. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Installation Design

Installation Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Adelaide Botanic High School by Cox Architecture and DesignInc. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Public Design

Public Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site