2015 National Architecture Awards: Public Award

Adelaide Oval Redevelopment by Cox Architecture, Walter Brooke and Hames Sharley Public Architecture: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The redevelopment of the Adelaide Oval has set a new standard for facilitating a range of sporting and hospitality events within a major sports stadium. The project retains the unique characteristics of the Adelaide Oval by creating pavilions that not only provide perfect sightlines for a game but also allow views to break out of the central bowl. Of special note is the retention of the northern grass bank, its Moreton Bay fig trees enhanced by a new hospitality deck. This retention of one of the Adelaide Oval’s most favourite viewing points reinforces the globally recognized identity of the ground.

The new complex makes the most of its urban context. It engages successfully with the city and parklands by introducing a transparent perimeter skin and elevated external terraces with views back to the city, which have proved to be extremely popular. The complex, curved stadium roof forms are suitably grand in scale yet structurally refined to the point of looking deceptively simple. The choice of materials and detail rejects the brutality that has been prominent in this typology over recent decades. However, robustness is not compromised. All parts of the Adelaide Oval have been carefully considered to produce what must be, nationally, one of the most accessible and most spatially dramatic public buildings devoted to sport.

Read the project review by Stephen Ward from Architecture Australia Jul/Aug 2015.


Cox Architecture
Project Team
Adam Hannon (project architect); Patrick Ness (design architect); Alastair Richardson (project director); Ian Hore (director); Anthony Balsamo (urban lead); Michael Lambert (planning lead); Soren Fischer (facade design); Mee Kim Kyong (facade lead);, Joachim Clauss (roof lead); Stuart Harper (roof team); Naomi Evans (urban and facade team); Chin Tan, Kirsty Dicker, James Thompson, Kate Holford, Amos Dahlitz
Hames Sharley
Walter Brooke
Adelaide, SA, Australia
Building surveyor Katnich Dodd
Contractor Lend Lease
Cost manager Rider Levett Bucknall – Melbourne
Landscape architect Oxigen Landscape Architects
Project manager Mott MacDonald
Services engineer Aurecon, AECOM
Structural engineer Arup, Wallbridge & Gilbert
Site details
Location Adelaide,  SA,  Australia
Project Details
Status Built



Published online: 5 Nov 2015
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2015
Images: Drew Lenman, John Gollings


Architecture Australia, November 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.