2015 National Architecture Awards: Urban Design

Monash University North West Precinct by Jackson Clements Burrows Architects in collaboration with MGS Architects (Masterplan) Urban Design: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Jackson Clements Burrows, in collaboration with MGS Architects (who was responsible for the masterplan of Monash University’s Clayton campus), has conceived and implemented an economical and lively program of interventions that revitalize a group of low-rise 1960s masonry and concrete university buildings. Their concept, which introduces pedestrian walks to new and old spaces and creates entrance “places” with an architectural kit of parts, succeeds on many levels. The old two-storey buildings are skilfully refurbished internally and externally refaced with a colourful language of new plate steel fenestration elements that contrasts with new raw concrete entrance portals and stairs.

This work is not monumental. It is a matter of careful addition and subtraction, what one might call successful architectural surgery. The folded concrete portals bring a larger scale to the existing low-rise buildings. They create protected entrances and stepped platforms, which provide successful places for students to gather. Laneways have steel portals in conversation with the larger concrete portals, but these are more about transition – moving spaces, not lingering and meeting places. A large aperture cut in at ground level opens one of the buildings to an intimate courtyard garden between. The architects have lined this “tunnel” with continuously varying red-glazed frames, creating a rich connection.

Deep black shadow angles at intersections of old and new show the architects’ attention to detail and the delicate circumstance of creating “new” within the “old.” These works are about urban renewal. The architects’ design strategy can be used at any level of urbanism and in this context, they have brought new energy and focus to a previously lifeless precinct.


Jackson Clements Burrows Architects
Melbourne, Vic, Australia
Project Team
Graham Burrows (design architect); Simon Topliss (project architect); Alex Hopkins (interior architect); Blair Smith, Ben Bindon (graduate architects)
MGS Architects
Melbourne, Vic, Australia
Acoustic consultant Marshall Day Acoustics
Builder Lend Lease
Landscape consultant Outlines Landscape Architecture
Peer Review Monash Facilities, Services and Associated Committees
Services consultant SKM-S2F
Structural consultant Arup
Site Details
Location Melbourne,  Vic,  Australia
Project Details
Status Built
Category Public / commercial
Type Universities / colleges



Published online: 5 Nov 2015
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2015
Images: Peter Clarke


Architecture Australia, November 2015

Related topics

More award

See all
Salisbury Community Hub by Hassell. 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards on 2 July.

Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects with Advanced Timber Concepts Studio. 2020 WA Architecture Awards

A sustainable timber building that draws of regional community spirit and a history of Indigenous AFL players has taken out the top honour at the …

STEAM Building Darwin High School by Hully Liveris Design Company and Jackman Gooden Architects. 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards.

Kingborough Community Hub by March Studio. 2020 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

Reinvention and reuse reigned supreme in the 2020 Tasmanian Architecture Awards announced via a live broadcast by the Australian Institute of Architects.

Most read

Latest on site