Endorsed by

2016 AAA Awards: National Emerging Architect Prize

National Emerging Architect Prize: Amy Muir 2016 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury Citation

Amy Muir.

Amy Muir.

Image: Peter Bennetts

Amy Muir is awarded the 2016 National Emerging Architect Prize in recognition of her significant contributions to the profession through design excellence, education and industry leadership. Muir graduated from RMIT University with first-class honours in 2002 and was awarded both the Anne Butler Memorial Prize and the Architects Registration Board of Victoria’s Association of Women in Architecture Prize for her final thesis project. Following graduation, Muir worked for Carr Design for seven years, during which time she was elevated to Director of Architecture.

In 2011 she co-founded Muir Mendes (now Muir Architecture) and now runs the practice as the sole director. Her outstanding work with Muir Architecture has been the subject of numerous publications and articles and the practice has been recognized with awards at state and national level. Muir is committed to supporting the education of young architects and has guest lectured at various universities with significant contributions to design education through her role as an associate lecturer at RMIT.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

Muir is a passionate member of the Victorian Chapter Council and co-chairs the Victorian Small Practice Forum, the participation levels of which have grown during her involvement. Muir demonstrates exceptional leadership skills and natural generosity through a clear commitment to the value of knowledge sharing. Muir is widely recognized as a great role model for young architects and she is a deserving winner of the National Emerging Architect Prize for 2016.

Jon Clements FRAIA (chair) – Australian Institute of Architects National President, Jackson Clements Burrows Architects; Rob Henry RAIA – 2015 EmAGN National President, Rob Henry Architects; Nic Brunsdon RAIA – 2015 National Emerging Architect Prize winner, Post- Architecture; Kellie Moore – National Marketing Manager, Architectural Window Systems



Published online: 29 Apr 2016


Architecture Australia, May 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Bar Design

Eighteen bars are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

372 by Ctrl Space. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist:
Best Restaurant Design

Announced on 23 August, the shortlist for the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards includes 35 projects for Best Restaurant Design.

A Cafe Called John by Terroir Architects. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist: Best Cafe Design

Seventeen cafes are shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.