Endorsed by

2016 AAA Awards: William J. Mitchell International Chapter Prize

William J. Mitchell International Chapter Prize: Brian Burr 2016 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Brian Burr.

Brian Burr.

The William J. Mitchell International Chapter Prize is awarded annually in recognition of a significant contribution to architecture internationally. It is primarily intended to enhance the profile of Australian architecture internationally and the profile and career of the winner. This year the International Chapter has selected Brian Burr as an exemplary recipient of the prize.

Within the discipline of architecture there are few with talent and discipline comparable to that of architectural renderer Brian Burr.

With a fine eye, steady hand and attention to accuracy and detail, Burr creates drawings breathtaking in their draftsmanship as well as their beauty. While photorealistic, computer-generated drawings dominate the profession, Burr has remained steadfast in his belief that pencil, eye and hand reign supreme when visualizing the built environment, present and future. He has subsequently and rightly earned the respect of every architect, in Australia and internationally, who has had the pleasure of working with him.

After graduating from the University of Melbourne in 1963, Burr worked in numerous cities around the world, including a few years in his home town of Melbourne. However, it is in New York City that he has primarily practised and honed his craft. Over some forty-plus years as a New Yorker, Burr established himself as a highly respected and sought-after architectural renderer for a significant and diverse group of international practitioners – all unified by their respect for his artistic ability and his personal camaraderie.

Burr has readily built on and continued the legacy and lineage of an elite group of gifted architectural artists.

With such exceptional talent and credentials, the International Chapter considered Brian Burr a worthy recipient of the William J. Mitchell International Chapter Prize.

Dik Jarman Aff RAIA (chair) – The University of Nottingham; Bob Nation LFRAIA – Nation Architects; Hank Koning FRAIA – Koning Eizenberg Architecture; Steven Smit RAIA – Atkins; Justin Hill FRAIA – Kerry Hill Architects; David Teh FRAIA – Pakatan Reka Arkitek; Fiona Nixon FRAIA – Atelier Lim and Tan; Janine Campbell RAIA – Architect and artist; Grant Marani FRAIA – Robert A. M. Stern Architects; Vui Choong RAIA – Hassell



Published online: 29 Apr 2016


Architecture Australia, May 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Empire by Austin Maynard Architects. 2019 ACT Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 ACT Architecture Awards.

HOTA Outdoor Stage by ARM Architecture. 2019 Queensland Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Queensland Architecture Awards.

MPH HQ by Sue Dugdale and Associates. 2019 NT Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the NT Architecture Awards.

Usfin by George Livissianis. Winners revealed: 2019 Australian Interior Design Awards

A “genuinely clever” design for a Sydney hair salon has won the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design at the 2019 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site