Endorsed by

2016 Australian Interior Design Awards: Commendations

2016 Australian Interior Design Awards Commendations

Twenty-eight projects and three emerging practices received commendations.

Workplace Design

Squint/Opera – Sibling

Bresic Whitney Hunters HillChenchow Little

Corrs Chambers Westgarth – Bates Smart

Hospitality Design

Dinner By Heston Blumenthal – Bates Smart

Abbots & Kinney – studio-gram

Tetsujin – Architects EAT

TransformerBreathe Architecture

Lee Ho Fook – Techne Architecture + Interior Design

The Ugly Duckling – Hecker Guthrie

Public Design

Mater Hospital Poche Van Norton Special Care Nursery – Alexandra Kidd Design

Methodist Ladies College Boarding House Upgrade – CODA Studio

Monash International Bachelor of Business School – Jackson Clements Burrows with Jackson Interiors

Woodleigh School, Homestead Redevelopment, Senior Campus – Law Architects

Monash University Academics’ Club & Café (Church of Secular Coffee) (St Ali) – Jackson Clements Burrows Architects

Retail Design

Beresford Cellar Door – Enoki and Alexander Brown Architects

UBET – McCartney Design and Hulsbosch

Aesop Rundle Street – Genesin Studio

Installation Design

Collette Dinnigan: Unlaced – Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences in collaboration with Anna Tregloan, consultant designer

PUBLIC2015 – FORM Building a State of Creativity

Lexus Design Pavilion ‘The Nest’Mim Design

Studio Thing – Warc Studio

Residential Design

Parr House – SJB Interiors

Balwyn Residence – Fiona Lynch

Double Life House – Breathe Architecture

Villa MarittimaRobin Williams Architect

Ranley Grove House – Owen Architecture

Residential Decoration

Richmond Residence – We Are Huntly

Toorak Residence – Adele Bates Design

Emerging Interior Design Practice

Flack Studio





Published online: 10 Jun 2016
Images: Aaron Pocock, Bewley Shaylor, Brooke Holm, Brooke Holm and Marsha Golemac, CR3 Studio, Chris Warnes, Christine Francis, Damian Bennett, David Sievers, Dean Bradley, Derek Swalwell, Drew Echberg, Earl Carter, Jonathan Vdk, Katherine Lu, Marinco Kojdanovski, Mark Roper, Nicole England, Peter Bennetts, Peter Clarke, Shannon McGrath, Sharyn Cairns, Simon Whitbread, Steve Back, Toby Scott


Artichoke, June 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site