2016 Houses Awards: New House under 200 m2

New House under 200 m2 Naranga Avenue House by James Russell Architect 2016 Houses Awards

Jury comment

Naranga Avenue House by James Russell Architect stood out clear of the pack in the New House under 200 m2 category. The project has a sublime, ephemeral quality, with a simple skin of delicate breezeblocks. A close collaboration between architect and engineer made the modular timber frame and skin work with minimal steel.

This clear idea for shelter provides occupants with protection that shields them from the sun, lets breezes through the dwelling and mitigates the wet weather (turning heavy rain into a light mist), while also providing for essential privacy and security in the eclectic Florida Gardens 1960s canal estate siting.

The focus for the project then becomes the internal courtyard gardens, a transitional series of spaces that celebrates a democratic freedom in the plan – connecting and placing you in conversation with country, like a small village between forest and pool.

See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.

Award for New House under 200 m2 is supported by Artedomus.


James Russell Architect
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Project Team
James Russell, John Ellway, Ash Brown
Builder James Davidson
Engineer Westera Partners
Site Details
Location Brisbane,  Qld,  Australia
Project Details
Status Built
Completion date 2016
Category Residential
Type New houses



Published online: 22 Jul 2016
Images: Toby Scott


Houses, July 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site