Entries open: Lafarge Holcim Awards for sustainable design

Entries are now open for the fifth international Lafarge Holcim Foundation Awards for sustainable design.

The awards seek leading projects from professionals as well as ideas from the next generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural evidence.

The competition is organized by the Lafarge Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction and identifies the ideas with the highest potential to improve quality of life and tackle today’s challenges surrounding increasing urbanization.

Projects and concepts in the fields of architecture, landscape, urban design, planning, technology and civil materials and engineering are eligible to enter the US$2 million (AU$2.6 million) awards competition.

Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before July 4, 2016.

Entrants up to the age of 30 may also submit concepts and ideas irrespective of actual implementation of the project. The Next Generation category specifically asks for “blue-sky” solutions from students and young professionals.

The competition has been divided into five geographic regions, each with its own specialist jury. The juries are headed by Harry Gugger (for Europe), Ray Cole (North America), Angelo Bucci (Latin America), Nagwa Sherif (Middle East Africa) and Donald Bates (Asia Pacific).

The winners will be announced at five ceremonies in the second half of 2017. Winners automatically qualify for the global awards competition in 2018.

For further information and entry details visit the Lafarge Holcim Foundation website.

Submissions close on 21 March 2017.

In the 2015 Global Holcim Awards, Sri Lankan studio Robust Architecture Workshop, headed by University of Melbourne graduate Milinda Pathiraja and Ganga Ratnayake received the US$100,000 Silver Award for its project Post-War Collective, a community library building that aims to reintegrate ex-soldiers into postwar Sri Lankan community.

The US$200,000 Gold Award went to Articulated Site: Water reservoirs as public park, by Mario Camargo and Luis Tombé (Colectivo720), together with Juan Calle and Horacio Valencia (Empresas Públicas de Medellín (EPM Group)).

The US$50,000 Bronze Award went to The Dryline: Urban flood protection infrastructure by Bjarke Ingels and Kai-Uwe Bergmann of Bjarke Ingels Group (Denmark/USA) and One Architecture (Netherlands) in collaboration with City of New York.

Related topics

More news

See all
Di Stasio Citta by Hassell. Winners revealed: 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards

The winners of the 17th annual Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced.

University of the Sunshine Coast Moreton Bay campus foundation building, designed by Hassell. Former paper mill becomes university campus

Hassell has completed the “foundation building” for Australia’s newest university campus located on the site of a former paper mill in Queensland.

A newly funded major research project will investigate the effects of architectural work culture on the wellbeing of practitioners and students. Mental health in architecture research project receives funding

A newly funded major research project, led by Naomi Stead, will investigate the effects of architectural work culture on the wellbeing of practitioners and students.

The Victoria Cross integrated station development. North Sydney integrated station development finalized

Final designs have been unveiled for the proposed Victoria Cross station development, which includes a 42-storey office tower and a new retail laneway.

Most read

Latest on site