Endorsed by

2016 National Architecture Awards: Heritage Award

5 Martin Place by JPW and TKD architects in collaboration Heritage: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The 1916 Commonwealth Bank building at 5 Martin Place is perhaps best remembered as the Money Box Building. The redevelopment strategy for this project clearly recognizes the value of the original architecture while concealing the later and less-than-considerate 1960s extension. A number of complex manoeuvres are at play in this project, which combines commercial and retail uses in both the original and new extensions. Most notable, though, is the rather polite but successful ten-storey extension that is discreetly cantilevered over the top of the original building, minimizing any interruption to the original building fabric. Under the cantilever the original light well has been opened up to provide a light-filled atrium connecting the commercial office floors through visual activation. The new interiors are respectful to the original architecture, evoking a sense of nostalgia, and sensitivity is evident throughout, with functional planning allowing many original rooms and the banking chambers to be retained. This project demonstrates the significant measurable benefits of heritage retention associated with commercial renewal.


Architect in association
Johnson Pilton Walker
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Project Team
JPW project team: Richard Johnson (project director), Peter Blome (project associate), Mathew Howard (project architect), Wayne Dickerson (associate);, TKD project team: Megan Jones (principal architect); David Earp (project architect); Geoge Phillips, Scott MacArthur (project heritage architects); Howard Tanner (senior consultant); Hiren Sheth, Ian Leung, Luis Abarca Ibaceta, Amy Wong, Daelyn Loh, Asta Chow (architects); Roy Lumby, Sean Williams (senior heritage specialists); Sarah-Jane Zammit,, Vanessa Holtham, Cassandra Colins (heritages specialists); Calista Tam (interior designer), Mitchell Bath, Agata Darlak, Alexandra Gurman (graduates of architecture); Branko Rilkovski (architectural technician)
Architect in association
TKD Architects
Access consultant Morris Goding Accessibility Consulting
Acoustic consultant Acoustic Logic
BCA McKenzie Group
Builder Grocon
Certifier McKenzie Group
ESD consultant Norman Disney Young
Facade engineer Inhabit
Fire engineer Defire
Fire services Aurecon
Mechanical and electrical engineers AECOM
Project manager Savills Australia
Public art consultants Anne Loxley
Quantity surveyor Slattery Australia
Structural and hydraulic engineers Aurecon
Town planning JBA Urban Planning
Vertical transport consultant Norman Disney Young
Site details
Location Sydney,  NSW,  Australia
Site type Urban
Category Commercial / public buildings
Type Commercial, Workplace
Project Details
Status Built
Completion date 2015



Published online: 3 Nov 2016
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2016
Images: Brett Boardman


Architecture Australia, November 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Empire by Austin Maynard Architects. 2019 ACT Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 ACT Architecture Awards.

HOTA Outdoor Stage by ARM Architecture. 2019 Queensland Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Queensland Architecture Awards.

MPH HQ by Sue Dugdale and Associates. 2019 NT Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the NT Architecture Awards.

Usfin by George Livissianis. Winners revealed: 2019 Australian Interior Design Awards

A “genuinely clever” design for a Sydney hair salon has won the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design at the 2019 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site