2016 National Architecture Awards: Sustainable Architecture Award

University of Queensland Oral Health Centre by Cox Rayner Architects with Hames Sharley and Conrad Gargett Riddel Sustainable Architecture: National Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

This educational facility has sustainability principles embedded throughout its design. The architects were challenged to design a building that not only eliminates its impact on the environment, but also minimizes the trepidation often associated with going to the dentist. The result is an inviting sequence of spaces that engage students, staff and the public. Collaborative learning environments, laboratories, interconnected pathways, study spaces and common areas connect with the outside environment, letting in ample natural light. The sloping site allows public levels and clinics to be located low and adjacent to the parkland. With a refined use of materials and finishes throughout, the spaces feel accessible and approachable, contributing to a feeling of calm. This six-star-Green-Star-rated building incorporates numerous sustainability initiatives, including passive design, solar power, the re-use of old building materials and on-site water treatment. The University of Queensland’s suite of buildings receives a positive addition with this innovative educational and public facility.

Read the project review by John de Manincor from Architecture Australia Sept/Oct 2015.


Design architect
Cox Rayner Architects
Project Team
Michael Rayner (principal design director); Casey Vallance (project director); Shane Horswill (site architect); Richard Coulson, Peter Hale (project architects); , Stanton Kroenert, Karl de Beer, Barry Vos, Ervin Fontant, Madeleine Webb (senior graphic designers); Kara West (graphic designer), Mark Shay, Perry Gustafsson (senior architectural technicians); Ali Farmer, Greg Wines, Stephen Gunn (project architects); Kate Bell, Charlotte Churchill (interior designers); Troy Rafton, Leon McBride, Julian Farrell (3D visual artists);
Health Planning Architect
Hames Sharley
Acoustic consultant Ron Rumble
Architect Conrad Gargett Riddel
Builder Lend Lease
Certifier Certis Group
Civil and structural engineer Aurecon
Electrical engineer Aurecon
Facade engineer Meinhardt Facade Technology
Fire and hydraulic consultant McKendry Rein Petersen
Fire engineer Aurecon
Heritage architect Michael Scott (Conrad Gargett Riddell)
Hydraulic engineer MRP
Kitchen design Food Service Design Australia
Landscape RPS Group
Mechanical engineer Multitech Solutions
Project manager Kim Wishart (University of Queensland)
Quantity surveyor Rider Levett Bucknall – Melbourne
Services consultant McKendry Rein Petersen
Signage Dot Dash
Superintendent's representative Capital Insight
Traffic and transport TTM Consulting
Site Details
Location Brisbane,  Qld,  Australia
Site type Suburban
Category Commercial, Health, Public / commercial
Project Details
Status Built
Completion date 2015



Published online: 3 Nov 2016
Words: National Architecture Awards Jury 2016
Images: Christopher Frederick Jones


Architecture Australia, November 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site