Endorsed by

2017 National Architecture Awards: Houses (Alterations and Additions) Commendation

Dornoch Terrace House by James Russell Architect Houses (Alterations and Additions): National Commendation Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

New life has been inventively breathed into an almost derelict squat with a colourful history. On a steeply sloping site the plan weaves down, around and under the existing timber house into a newly activated undercroft, providing a heart for family life. Testing and pushing boundaries of conventional materials and planning, the design provides hidden doors, maze-like circulation, verandah additions and sleep-outs that all contribute to a richly textured domain supporting the rough and tumble of domesticity. This is a climate-sensitive, low-tech and site-responsive project with a spatially clever take on conventional house planning.

Dornoch Terrace House was reviewed by Michelle Bailey in Houses 112.


James Russell Architect
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Project Team
James Russell (design architect), John Ellway, Ash Brown; Builder James Russell
Engineer AD Structure
Site details
Category Residential buildings
Type Alts and adds, Houses, Residential
Project Details
Status Built



Published online: 2 Nov 2017
Words: 2017 National Architecture Awards Jury
Images: Toby Scott


Architecture Australia, November 2017

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site