2017 Australian Urban Design Awards jury announced

A panel of jurors for the 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards have been announced. The awards recognize contemporary Australian urban design of the highest quality and aims to encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice.

The jury for the awards will be made up of a representative from each of the supporting organizations:

  • Planning Institute of Australia: William Chandler (director, Chandler Consulting Services)
  • Australian Institute of Architects: Jon Clements (director, Jackson Clements Burrows)
  • Australian Institute of Landscape Architects: Malcolm Snow (chief executive, National Capital Authority)
  • Government Architects Network: Jill Garner (Victorian Government Architect)
  • Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council: Neil Savery (general manager, Australian Building Codes Board)
  • Consulting Australia: Cindy Varnier (infrastructure sustainability consultant, GHD)
  • Engineers Australia: Anne Kovachevich (Qld Ecologically Sustainable Development and Foresight and Innovation leader, Arup)
  • Green Building Council of Australia: Davina Nox (senior sustainability consultant, WSP)

The awards were developed from the Australia Award for Urban Design, which was created by former prime minister Paul Keating’s Urban Task Force in 1996.

The winners of the 2016 awards ranged from small urban interventions to concepts for entire suburbs. Entries are open to both built projects and design concepts and plans.

In a message congratulating the 2016 finalists, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said, “These projects and designs will enhance our cities’ built environments for the people they must serve, and leave a lasting legacy for future generations.”

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia. The principal partner is Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia, with supporting partners PTA Landscapes, Holcim, Wood Solutions and Christie.

Entries close 28 July. The winners will be announced in Brisbane on 25 October. For more information on the Australian Urban Design Awards, including information on the entry process, go here.

Related topics

More news

See all
Victorian construction industry put on ‘pilot light’ setting as part of stage 4 lockdown Victorian construction industry put on ‘pilot light’ setting as part of stage 4 lockdown

The Victorian government will partially shut down the state’s construction sites as part of stage four COVID-19 restrictions.

Melbourne in 1838, shaped by surveyor Robert Hoddle's grid design. More than 100 Melbourne buildings to be heritage protected

Following an extensive heritage review commissioned by the City of Melbourne, 137 buildings and 5 precincts have been recommended for heritage protection.

The Greenhouse by Blight Rayner. Verdant office tower proposed for Brisbane's West End

Known as the Greenhouse, the building designed by Blight Rayner will “epitomize the south-east Queensland relaxed lifestyle.”

The late Alastair Swayn was a Canberra architect and a director of Daryl Jackson Alastair Swayn. Alastair Swayn Foundation launches second round of research grants

The Alastair Swayn Foundation has launched a second round of research grants for 2020, with more than $20,000 on offer.

Most read

Latest on site