2017 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

Australian House of the Year Auchenflower House by Vokes and Peters 2017 Houses Awards

Jury comment

This project is distinguished by its deceptive simplicity. It is the result of the architecture practice’s sustained investigations into the Queensland vernacular, and the straightforward application and sensory qualities of utilitarian materials.

By identifying “the private house as a critical piece of city-making,” the architects confer on this project a commonly missed role. In detail, the interpretation of the brief and site aligns with Fernando Távora’s idea that “each case is a case.”

The architects’ siting strategy explores the potential of quiet suburban spaces and associations, apparent and real boundaries and notions of private and communal space.

The building forms, scale, plans, details, composition and sections acknowledge the suburban street-corner relationship, making beautiful connections with the carefully observed conditions of the site.

Auchenflower House offers an inventive model for working with traditional housing on suburban blocks and provides an intelligent and poetic paradigm for current practice.

See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.

Australian House of the Year is supported by Cult.


Vokes and Peters
Project Team
Stuart Vokes, Kirsty Hetherington, Marty Said
Builder Bauen Constructions
Engineer Westera Partners
Site Details
Site type Suburban
Project Details
Status Built
Type New houses



Published online: 4 Aug 2017
Images: Christopher Frederick Jones


Houses, August 2017

Related topics

More award

See all
Phoenix Central Park by Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects. Durbach Block Jaggers, John Wardle Architects win highest honour at 2020 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the NSW awards via a live broadcast on 3 July.

Salisbury Community Hub by Hassell. 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards on 2 July.

Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects with Advanced Timber Concepts Studio. 2020 WA Architecture Awards

A sustainable timber building that draws of regional community spirit and a history of Indigenous AFL players has taken out the top honour at the …

STEAM Building Darwin High School by Hully Liveris Design Company and Jackman Gooden Architects. 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2020 Northern Territory Architecture Awards.

Most read

Latest on site